San Antonio Government
What is a City Directory?
Typically, a city directory contains an alphabetical list of heads of households, addresses, and occupations as well as businesses and organizations. They frequently contain background information on the city as well as interesting historical information. City directories were created before telephone books but are still being produced in addition to them.
United States City Directories: Online
San Antonio and U.S. City Directories: Online
You can search the directories by a person's name or access the full page images of directories, Click on the "filmstrip" icon at the bottom of the page to display thumbnails. The following San Antonio City Directories are included in HeritageQuest among many other U.S. cities:
To browse by page image for specific directory use the Browse this Collection box on the right hand side of the search page. Select the State then the city then the year of the directory.
For example, Texas / San Antonio / 1877
1877, 1879, Mooney and Morrison Directory of the City of San Antonio
1881-82, 1883-83, 1885-86, 1887-88, Morrison & Fourmy’s General Directory of the City of San Antonio
1891 Johnson and Chapman’s General Directory of the City of San Antonio
1892-93, 1895-96, 1897-98, 1899-1900, 1901-92, Jules A. Appler’s General Directory of the City of San Antonio
1903-1904, 1905-1906, 1907-1908, 1908, 1909, Jules A. Appler’s General Directory and Bluebook of the City of San Antonio
1910-11, Directory of the City of San Antonio, Texas Publishing Co.
1912, 1913 Jules A. Appler’s General Directory and Bluebook of Greater San Antonio
1914, 1915, 1916, 1917, 1918, 1919, 1921, 1922-23, 1924, Jules A. Appler’s General Directory and Householder Directory of Greater San Antonio
1926, 1927 John F. Worley Directory Co. San Antonio City Directory
1929, 1931,1934, 1936, 1938, 1940, 1942 (partial), 1946, 1948, 1951, 1952, 1954, 1955, Worley’s San Antonio (Texas) City Directory
1959, 1960 Polk’s San Antonio (Bexar County, Texas) City Directory