- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Human Rights
A guide to library and online sources for research on human rights.
- Getting Started
- Background Information
- Books and Videos
- Government and Legal Sources
- Primary SourcesToggle Dropdown
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, TX 78249
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, TX 78249
Subjects: Art & Art History, History, Languages, Modern, Newspapers
Search Library Quick Search
Library Quick Search
Use Library Quick Search to search for books and articles across many databases in a single search.
Search Google Scholar
How to Use Google Scholar Off CampusDue to recent changes made by Google, you'll need to do a one-time set-up for your account to access full-text articles available through UTSA Libraries. Step by step instructions provided.
Unless otherwise noted, these databases are available only to current UTSA students, faculty and staff.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull image access to a comprehensive archive of scholarly journals.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowFull text articles from scholarly presses including Johns Hopkins University Press covering the humanities and social sciences. Disciplines of interest include Asian Studies, African Studies, American Studies, Latin American Studies, History, International Relations, Women’s Studies, among others
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts more than 9,300 journals with full-text/image for more than 5,300. Highly multidisciplinary, this resource includes social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and ethnic studies.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowOffers indexing/abstracting to articles in over 3,300 journals across a wide range of subject areas, more than 1,700 of which are also available in full text. Subject strengths include the arts and humanities, business, education, health, international studies, law, literature, multicultural studies, psychology, the sciences, and the social sciences.
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new windowExtensive coverage of news, legal and business sources. Contains full text U.S. and foreign newspapers, broadcast transcripts, newswires; company, industry and financial information including Company Dossier, and legal sources for U.S. Federal and State case law, statutes, regulations and law reviews. Create a free profile (optional) to save searches and set up alerts. Updated daily. Coverage: 1975-current.
- America: History and Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThis database indexes and abstracts articles on American, Canadian and Mexican history published from 1964 onward. See Historical Abstracts for the history of other areas.
- Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThis database indexes and abstracts articles on world history from the Renaissance onward (excluding the Unites States and Canada) published from 1954 onward. From 1954 to 1963 it does contain articles published on American and Canadian history. See America: History and Life for American and Canadian history.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts over 1,400 international journals in political science and related fields, including international relations, law, public administration, and public policy. Coverage is from 1975 to current. Updated monthly. Citations only with some full text linking.
- Sociology: A Sage Full-Text Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to 37 journals published by Sage on topics in sociology, including contemporary and comparative sociology, consumer culture, childhood, classical sociology, ethnic studies, gender studies, leisure studies, social theory, sociology of sport, and labor studies, among others.
- Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowFocuses on sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Indexes from 1963 and abstracts from 1974, drawing from more than 2,500 journals as well as conference papers, books, and dissertations.
- SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts nearly 2,000 journals in all subdivisions of sociology, over 300 of which have full text. Also includes 550 full-text books and monographs and 6,700 conference proceedings. Most Coverage begins in 1990s with some older citations.
- Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCitations to nearly 14 million articles in the humanities and social sciences. Covers anthropology, area studies, economics, education, history, linguistics and philology, literature, music and the performing arts, and sociology, among others. Mostly English, with significant offerings in Spanish, French and German. Full text
- Ingenta This link opens in a new windowContains brief descriptive information for articles from 30,000 scholarly publications from 200 academic and professional publishers. Updated daily. Search by keywords. Check Library Quick Search to see if the journal cited is available at UTSA, or obtain material through Interlibrary Loan. Citations only.
- Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowDNSA contains a wealth of significant primary documents relating to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945 obtained through the U.S. Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). Divided into 53 collections on Cuba, Mexico, South and Central America, Afghanistan, the former Soviet Union, South Africa, Iran, China, Korea, Vietnam, Philippines and other areas. Documents include memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, emails, and confidential letters. Also see National Security Archive.
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new windowContains major full-text reference resources on African American and African history and culture, including Encyclopedia of African American History; Black Women in America (2nd edition); Africana; and African American National Biography, as well as articles from major reference sources.
- Hein Online: Civil Rights and Social Justice This link opens in a new windowContaining publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, legislative histories on landmark legislation, briefs from relevant U.S. Supreme Court cases, and more, this database covers civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans.
- Hein Online: Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new windowIncludes all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world, as well as materials on free African-Americans in the colonies and the U.S. before 1870. Search the entire database or browse by slavery statutes (state and federal), judicial cases, scholarly articles, e-books, bibliography, and external links.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new windowExcellent annotated entries of books, book chapters, journal articles, and conference papers published worldwide in the area of Social Sciences and Humanities. Compiled by the Hispanic Division of Library of Congress which provides this free, searchable Web Version. Note: Limiting by year retrieves citations published in that year’s HLAS volume, not the year the material itself was published. Citations only. Free website. Also available in print: check Catalog..
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new windowIndexes 500 scholarly journals published worldwide on information about Latin America, the U.S.-Mexico border, and U.S. Hispanics. Articles may be in English, Spanish, French, or other languages. A list of journals indexed in HAPI is under “Journals” in the online edition. Coverage: 1970 – current. Citations only.
- Fuente Academica Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the full text of 260 Spanish-language scholarly publications. This multi-disciplinary database offers full text content to many academic areas including business and economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library and information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology. Updated daily. Full text.
- Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and full-image access to doctoral dissertations and master's theses from more than 1,000 graduate schools and universities. Abstracts are provided for dissertations beginning in 1980 and for master's theses beginning in 1988. Full-image PDFs are available for most titles published since 1997 and a limited number of titles previous to 1997. Coverage is from 1861 to the present.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowProvides access to information from and about the U.S. Congress, from 1789-present. Includes congressional publications; bill tracking and full text of bills; legislative history; federal regulations; and member affiliations, demographic, financial, and voting records.
- Statistical Insight (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowFind statistics on population, economic conditions, labor, health, education, natural resources, pollution, and many other topics.
- PAIS International (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts over 3,800 journals, as well as numerous books, conference reports, government documents, and statistical information in a variety of subjects, including agriculture, business, education, finance, health, political science, and the social sciences. 1960-present. UTSA subscription database.
- Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents (LAPTOC)LAPTOC is a searchable Web database that provides access to the tables of contents of more than 800 journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, published in Latin America. Citations only.
- Political Database of the Americas (PDBA)The Political Database of the Americas (PDBA) is a non-governmental project of the Center for Latin American Studies (CLAS) at Georgetown University. The PDBA offers centralized and systematized information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to the strengthening of democracy in the region.
- Bibliography of Slavery and World SlavingThe Bibliography of Slavery is a searchable database containing verified references (except as noted) to approximately 25,000 scholarly works on slavery and slaving, worldwide and throughout human history, including modern times. It includes all known print materials published since 1900 in scholarly formats, as well as digital scholarly journals, recent unpublished presentations at academic conferences, professional historical sites, and major museum exhibitions and catalogs. Citations only.