- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Japanese Language, Literature & Culture
Japanese Language, Literature & Culture
Guide to print and online sources for Japanese language learning, literature and culture
Online Dictionaries
- Google TranslateWith more than 100 supported languages you can translate words, sentences, text and documents into or from your preferred language. Supports uploading and translation of documents including searchable PDFs.
Note: This is machine translation so 100% accuracy in translation and grammar not guaranteed.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowCross searchable and browsable full text subject, language and quotation dictionaries and subject encyclopedias, and Oxford Companions. Content covers a variety of disciplines, including the natural sciences, social sciences, humanities, and arts.
- WordReference.comEnglish/Japanese, Japanese/English dictionaries. Participate in online "forums" to ask questions or discuss meanings of words, phrases or idioms.
Dictionaries
Click on a title to check its availability.
Kodansha's Communicative English-Japanese Dictionary by Call Number: PE1130 .J3 S43 2006
Basic Japanese-English DictionaryCall Number: PL679 .B37 2004
Random House Japanese-English English-Japanese Dictionary by Call Number: PL679 .N294 1995
The Oxford-Duden Pictorial Japanese and English DictionaryCall Number: PL676 .O9 1989
Grammar
Click on a title to check its availability.
Basic Japanese Grammar by Call Number: PL535 .B58 2011
Basic Japanese: A Grammar and Workbook by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2014Accessible reference grammar and related exercises in a single volume.
Essential Japanese Grammar: A Comprehensive Guide to Contemporary Usage by Call Number: PL685 .T365 2011
Japanese Grammar by Call Number: PL533 .A35 2012
Japanese Grammar: The Connecting Point by Call Number: PL535 .N66 2010
Making Sense of Japanese Grammar by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2002Basic principles that underlie a wide range of phenomena in Japanese. Consists of short units, each focused on explaining a distinct problem.
501 Japanese Verbs by Call Number: PL585 .L3 2008
Japanese by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2002Japanese genetic relation has been a topic of heated discussion, but Altaic and Austronesian languages appear to have contributed to the early formation. It has a long written tradition, which goes back to texts from the eighth century AD. The modern writing system employs a mixture of Chinese characters and two sets of syllabary developed from the Chinese characters.
600 Basic Japanese Verbs by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2014Shows how to conjugate the 600 most common Japanese verbs in both Japanese script and romanized form. Compiled by Japanese language experts at The Hiro Japanese Center.
Japanese: Revised Edition by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2013Grammatical structure of Japanese. Japanese ranks as the ninth most widely spoken language of the world with more than 127 million speakers in the island state of Japan. .
Learn Kanji & Kana
- Wani KaniUses mnemonics to help you learn radicals, kanji, and vocabulary. Free content as well as optional paid content.
- Kanji AliveA free web application designed to help Japanese language students of all levels learn to read and write kanji.
- How to Learn Kanji in Six Easy StepsPublished in the Japan Times, these essays are written in English on a topic concerning kanji.
Writing Japanese
Click on a title to check its availability.
Japanese Kanji and Kana: A Complete Guide to the Japanese Writing System by Call Number: PL679 .H26 2012
Remembering the Kanji, Volume 1 by Call Number: PL547 .H4 2011A complete course on how to remember the meaning and writing of Japanese characters.
Remembering the Kanji, Volume 2 - by Call Number: Call Number: PL547 .H4 2012 v.2A systematic guide to reading the Japanese characters.
Remembering the Kanji. Volume 3 by Call Number: PL547 .H4 2012 v.3Writing and reading the Japanese characters for upper level proficiency.
