Books & E-Books
- Gale Virtual Reference Library: Social SciencesThis is a fully searchable online collection of over 100 reference books relevant to Social Work including titles on family studies, homelessness, research methods, policy, health issues, psychology and counseling.
- DSM Library This link opens in a new windowContains the DSM-5, the most current resource for diagnosing and assessing mental disorders. Also included are the DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, a resource for students and clinicians learning the process of psychiatric diagnosis, and DSM-5 Clinical Case Studies which represent the mental disorders presented in the DSM-5 and provide diagnostic concepts, symptoms and severity of each disorder, comorbidities, age of onset and development, dimensionality across disorders, and gender and cultural implications.
- Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowContains full-text e-books in a variety of academic disciplines from over 1,000 publishers. Access is only available to current UTSA students, faculty, and staff. Some titles are limited user.
Find Books at UTSA and Other Libraries
The Quick Search box on the Libraries' home page, or below, is the fastest way to find both print and electronic books. Type your search term into the box on the home page. When your results appear, you can limit them to books by using the filters in the left-hand column.
- Is the book at JPL at the Main Campus? Have it sent to Downtown by clicking on the
button. - Is it an e-book? Access it by clicking on the Available Online link. You might have to sign in again using your university id and passphrase.
button. - WorldCatFind materials in thousands of libraries throughout the world. To locate dissertations, in Sybtype Limits select Thesis/Dissertation.
Videos for Social Work
- Academic Video Online Premium (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new windowA large multidisciplinary streaming video collection in subjects as diverse as art & architecture, history, ethnography, theater, dance, music, criminal justice, education, counseling and therapy, science, business, political science and more. Includes the ability to save playlists and to create video clips for presentations.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowDigitally streams thousands of educational videos in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Engineering, Technology, and World Languages, as well as films on current newsworthy issues. Includes distributors such as Films for the Humanities & Sciences, BBC Worldwide Learning, NOVA, PBS, and HBO.
- NASW Youtube channelProvides videos of lectures, association events, and short documentaries. Be sure to click on Videos at the top of the Youtube screen to get a full list of offerings.
- Counseling and Therapy in Video (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new windowAccess to over 1500 online videos for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Includes counseling sessions and demonstrations; expert consultations; lectures, presentations, and interviews of well-known therapists; and teaching & discussion guides.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowDigitally streams thousands of popular films and documentaries, as well as educational videos in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Sciences, Business, and K-12 Education. Includes distributors such as PBS, Criterion Collection, Film Movement, Flicker Alley, and California Newsreel.