Geographic Information Systems (GIS)

Data.gov's mission is to make machine-readable, high-value data more available to the public. You can do a keyword search or search by the agency.

The Geospatial Platform provides ready access to federally maintained geospatial data, services, and applications. The Agency has verified the content of all datasets and services demarcated with the Data.gov globe to be consistent with Federal privacy, national security, and information quality policies. As an additional service to our users, we also provide access to data from our partners across State, Tribal, Regional and local governments, and non-governmental organizations.

This wiki site lists data sources for use within GIS software.

"The National Map is the product of a consortium of Federal, State, and local partners who provide geospatial data to enhance America's ability to access, integrate, and apply geospatial data at global, national, and local scales."

SEDAC, the Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center, is one of the Distributed Active Archive Centers (DAACs) in the Earth Observing System Data and Information System (EOSDIS) of the U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA). SEDAC focuses on human interactions in the environment.

Please read the Map Disclaimer.

The Bexar County Open Data Portal provides spatial and non-spatial data to help fulfill Bexar County's goal of government transparency.

The data created by the City of San Antonio is available to download in the ESRI ArcGIS 10.1 File Geodatabase format and is in the NAD 1983 State Plane Texas South Central FIPS 4204 Feet coordinate system. Please submit an Open Records request for datasets not included on the download page. The imagery files that were previously available for download are no longer available, due to a change in our license agreement.

Focal point for the distribution of Census information for Texas. Distributes population estimates and projections as well as other information from the federal & state government and other sources. Monitors demographic and socioeconomic changes in Texas to better inform the Texas executive and legislative branches.

A clearinghouse for Texas natural resource information. It was created by the Texas Water Development board, but includes information on water, geology, census information, and other natural resource information.

Provides access to datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. Review the catalog for content or request additional datasets.

A collection of small-scale datasets that can be downloaded for free. This raw data and its most up-to-date documentation is accessible from an index on the site.

Provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2010.

Includes the TIGER/Line Shapefile boundaries for Census geographies.

Federal interagency committee that promotes the coordinated development, use, sharing, and dissemination of geospatial data on a national basis.

A collaborative effort among the USGS National Geospatial Program and other Federal, State, and local partners to improve and deliver topographic information for the Nation.

DNPAO leads our nation’s efforts to prevent chronic diseases by promoting good nutrition, regular physical activity, and a healthy weight. We work in places where people live, learn, work, and play.

Links to online and downloadable data, provided by ESRI, vendor for popular GIS software.

Downloadable cartographic boundaries from the U.S. Census Bureau.

The official website for the system. All the geographic boundaries for the United States.

The main site for any information concerning the counting of the American population.

Layers of data for some of the national parks. This site also contains regional maps of parks, monuments, etc.

GIS data from the Fish & Wildlife for the United States.

The Bureau of Land Management (BLM) sponsors the Navigator. Navigator is a centralized service to access and share geospatial data making BLM data easier to find for everyone.

BOEM Data Center

BSEE Data Center

The Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) collects, published, and archives data on criminal activities.

The County Health Rankings show us that where we live matters to our health. The health of a community depends on many different factors – ranging from individual health behaviors, education and jobs, to quality of health care, to the environment.

The project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.

Online access to soil surveys.

With its counterparts in Mexico and Canada, FHWA has created joint working groups to address the challenges of improving mobility and security at overland border crossings. Please visit the websites of each working group to learn more."

This geographic data comes from New Mexico State University for the U.S./Mexico border region.

The JWC is a binational group which focuses on cooperating on land transportation planning and the facilitation of efficient, safe, and economical cross-border transportation movements between the United States and Mexico.