- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Criminology and Criminal Justice
Criminology and Criminal Justice
Databases and websites for articles, books and statistics on criminal justice
Criminal Justice Statistics and Reports
- Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS)The primary statistical agency of the Department of Justice. BJS collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, crime victims, and criminal justice operations.
- Bureau of Justice Statistics: Arrest Data Analysis ToolThis dynamic data analysis tool allows you to generate trend tables and figures of arrest data since 1980, including national arrest estimates and agency-level (police precinct) counts by offense, age, sex, and race. The underlying data are from the FBI's Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program.
- Census of JailsSeries of data collections that studies the nation's local jails and the 12 Federal Bureau of Prisons (BOP) detention facilities that function as jails.
- Criminal Justice StatisticsThe U.S. Census Bureau acts as a data collection agent to provide statistical data on a range of topics including capital punishment statutes, inmates on death row, inmate sexual victimization, inmate deaths, criminal justice expenditures, and a variety of facility data.
- Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program(aka Crime in America) Site, created by the FBI, includes full text of the crime reports back to 1995. It includes Crime in the United States, Hate Crime Statistics, and Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted. Updated yearly.
- Crime Data Explorer (FBI)Interactive online tool enables easier use of the extensive amount of Uniform Crime Data (UCR). Users can view charts and graphs that break down data in a variety of ways and geographic locations..
- Crime in the United States : reformatted from the original and including, Uniform crime reports for the United States and its possessionsPDF versions of the 1936 through 2012 volumes of the Uniform Crime Reports via LLMC.
- data.census.gov (Explore Census Data) This link opens in a new windowPrimary search tool to browse and access U.S. census data and build custom, downloadable tables, charts, reports, maps and data visualizations. Includes detailed data on population, housing, economics, and geographies from the Decennial Census, American Community Survey, Economic Census and other surveys.
Topics and geographies are easy to search using the single search bar, or access more detailed data using the filters in the Advanced Search option.
Access data.census.gov tutorials.
- Federal Justice Statistics Resource Center (FJSRC)Compiles comprehensive information describing suspects and defendants processed in the federal criminal justice system.
- National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (ICPSR)Archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis from curated studies or statistical data series. Data can be downloaded directly from ICPSR (you may need to create a free account) or link to the original report.
- National Registry of ExonerationsProvides detailed information about every known exoneration in the U.S. since 1989—cases in which a person was wrongly convicted of a crime and later cleared of all the charges based on new evidence of innocence.
- Sage Data This link opens in a new windowProvides access to an extensive repository of standardized and structured statistical datasets covering a variety of subject areas and helps users create charts, maps, graphs, and tables with descriptive summaries and citations. Data is sourced from U.S. and international public and private organizations. Users can compare and contrast multiple data series, perform statistical calculations on the data, and customize output views. Years of coverage vary depending on dataset.
Agriculture & Food; Banking, Finance, & Insurance; Criminal Justice & Law Enforcement; Education; Energy Resources & Industry; Government & Politics; Health & Vital Statistics; Housing & Construction; Industry, Business & Commerce; International Relations & Trade; Labor & Employment; Military & Defense; Natural Resources & Environment; Population & Income; Prices, Consumption & Cost of Living; Transportation & Traffic.
- Sourcebook of Criminal Justice StatisticsBrings together data from published and unpublished sources on all aspects of crime and criminal justice in the U.S. Project is located at the University at Albany, School of Criminal Justice.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new windowAn authoritative and comprehensive summary of U.S. social, political and economic data from Federal and State agencies as well as private organizations. All tables are available for download in PDF and Excel formats. Check original sources of data to explore more detailed information. Excellent introductory essay at beginning of each topic section. Updated annually.
Earlier editions (1970-current) accessible using drop down menu. Archived government editions (1878-2012) available free at U.S. Census Bureau and Cybercemetery sites. Tip Sheet. - Statista This link opens in a new windowProvides access to recent and relevant statistics and studies from market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and U.S. and international government sources. Topics include business, finance, education, media, politics, society, environment, technology and more. Ready-made tables, graphs, and charts are downloadable in PDF, XLS, PNG, or PPT.
- Indicators of School Crime and SafetyNational Center for Education Statistics
Archived reports 1998-2020 - National Criminal Justice Reference ServiceJuvenile and criminal justice information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
- RAND State Statistics This link opens in a new windowProvides a comprehensive portfolio of statistics for all 50 states. Topics are organized by broad categories: demographics, health, economics, crime, poverty and social services, income, K-12 education, government, and higher education. Drop down menus for each category allow the user to narrow the topic.
- United States Sentencing Commission: Data and StatisticsThe Office of Research and Data collects data from documents submitted by the courts in each case in which a defendant is sentenced. From that data, the Commission prepares and disseminates public reports on a wide variety of sentencing issues.
- Gun Violence ArchiveOnline archive of gun violence incidents collected from media, law enforcement, government and commercial sources daily in an effort to provide near-real time data about the results of gun violence. GVA in an independent data collection and research group with no affiliation with any advocacy organization.
- Brennan Center for JusticeThe Brennan Center for Justice is an independent, nonpartisan law and policy organization,
Reports
- 21st Century Protest Response: Promoting Democracy and Advancing Community and Officer SafetyU.S. Dept. of Justice, National Policing Institute
Related Organizations
- Art Loss RegisterThe Art Loss Register is the leading due diligence provider for the art market, and maintains the world’s largest private database of stolen art, antiques and collectables.