- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Criminology and Criminal Justice
Criminology and Criminal Justice
Databases and websites for articles, books and statistics on criminal justice
- The Blackwell Companion to CriminologyCall Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2010
- Criminal Justice and Criminology by James F. Anderson; Laronistine Dyson; Adam Langsam; Willie BrooksCall Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2007Contains criminal justice terms, criminological concepts, and over 100 cases decided by courts in the federal system, including the United States Supreme Court. These cases address aspects of criminal procedures, as well as individual rights in the U.S.
- Crime and the Justice System in America: An Encyclopedia by Frank Schmalleger; Gordon M. ArmstrongCall Number: Downtown HV6789 .C6884 1997Publication Date: 1997An inter-disciplinary survey of crime and violence in America with historical perspective, but primary entry emphasis focused on the 20th century.
- Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behaviour by Clifton D. BryantCall Number: Downtown HV6017 .E53 2001Publication Date: 2000Comprehensive work in the field of criminology and sociology separated into four volumes, covering Historical, Conceptual, and Theoretical Issues and Self Destructive and Disvalues Identity.
- Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice by Joshua DresslerCall Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2003An interdisciplinary source that addresses not only law but also sociology, psychology, history and economics.
- Historical Dictionary of Law Enforcement by Mitchel P. RothCall Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2000Viewing policing from an international perspective, this volume covers the history of law enforcement from early accounts of policing under Caesar Augustus to such present-day events as Rodney King and the LAPD
- The Routledge International Handbook of Criminology and Human Rights by Leanne Weber (Editor); Elaine Fishwick (Editor); Marinella Marmo (Editor)Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2017The Routledge International Handbook of Criminology and Human Rights brings together a diverse body of work from around the globe and across a wide range of criminological topics and perspectives, united by its critical application of human rights law and principles.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- A Dictionary of Law by Jonathan Law (Editor)Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2022 (10th edition)Entries that clearly define the major terms, concepts, processes, and the organization of the English legal system. Now in its tenth edition, it has been fully updated to incorporate recent case law and the latest legislation.
- A Dictionary of Criminal Justice by Peter Joyce; Neil WainCall Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2012
- Black's Law Dictionary by Bryan A. GarnerCall Number: KF156 .B53 2009 (Downtown Permanent Reserves)Publication Date: 2009-07-01
- Key Terms and Concepts for Investigation by John J. Fay (Editor)Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2015
- The American Dictionary of Criminal Justice by Champion, Dean J.Call Number: HV7411 .C48 2005 (Downtown)Publication Date: 2004
- The Oxford Companion to American Law by N. E. H. Hull (Editor); Kermit L. Hall (Editor); David S. Clark (Editor); James W. Ely (Editor); Joel B. Grossman (Editor)Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2002The Oxford Companion to American Law, a one-volume, A-Z encyclopedia that covers topics ranging from aging and the law, wiretapping and electronic eavesdropping, the Salem Witch Trials and Plessy vs. Ferguson.
- The Encyclopedia of Civil Liberties in AmericaCall Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2004
- World Encyclopedia of Police Forces and Correctional Systems by GaleCall Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2006Describes the national law enforcement and correctional systems of over 200 countries providing both statistical and analytical information. Features scholarly analysis.
- Encyclopedia of Prisons and Correctional Facilities by Mary F. Bosworth (Editor)Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2006 (3rd edition)A critical overview of penal institutions within a historical and contemporary framework.