Children’s and Young Adult Literature

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is the premier academic research and teaching tool for courses needing quality information for locating Children’s and Young Adult books and other media. The content includes over 2.6 million fiction/non-fiction records with 650,000+ national and international awards (including Newbery, Jane Addams Book Award, Caldecott) plus 540,000+ quality, professional reviews. It includes over 330,000 author/title links plus lesson plans and teaching guides. The search engine offers 45 search-limiters to easily find appropriate materials such as: determining interest & reading levels; select trade books based on standards; create thematic, annotated biographies; interpret reviews; develop STEM book collections and more. Students can set up their own My CLCD account to save their search assignments. Student access is FREE for one year after graduation.

Provides access to original, in-studio movies of authors and illustrators, audio excerpts of professional book readings, guides to thousands of titles, and a number of multimedia resources on children's and young adult literature. Search by author, title, subject, and grade. "Eye-on-the-Web" automated emails contain personally tailored reports filled with hot links that match specific interests.

Cross-searchable collection of full text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources in a wide-range of disciplines for background information. Formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library.

ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added twice weekly. If available, links to full text are included.

A highly specialized collection for professional educators, professional librarians, and education researchers, with information on everything from children's health and development to cutting-edge pedagogical theory and practice. Includes articles from academic journals, magazines, U.S. Department of Education Reports, and more.

Searchable full-text and full-image versions of scholarly journals and e-books from university presses and scholarly societies. Subject areas include the humanities, social sciences, math, and science.

Indexes over 260 titles from teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books. Covers education topics such as assessment, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, instructional media, language arts, literacy standards, science and mathematics, and more for K-12 teachers and librarians.