- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Medical Humanities
Key Resources from Humanities/Art
- Religion and Philosophy Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowFeatures full-text journal coverage of philosophical studies and theology from over 300 journals. Includes topics such as world religions, religious denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy.
- Philosopher's Index (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts scholarly research in the major fields of philosophy, including ethics, philosophy of education, metaphysics, philosophy of science, logic, philosophy of religion, and others. Covers over 570 U.S. and international journals and books. Includes authors' contributions to anthologies and book reviews.
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndexes critical scholarship on literature, criticism, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes thousands of titles including journals, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials, from the late 19th century to the present.
- Art Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSelectively indexes and abstracts articles from art-related periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins published throughout the world. Also indexes dissertations and art reproductions. Many articles in full text.
- RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCites materials covering all aspects of music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, dance, and music therapy. For 19th and early 20th century coverage, see RIPM.
- Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSelectively indexes and abstracts the scholarly literature of world history from 1450 to the present. Includes citations to journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations. Also includes useful features such as the ability to search by historical time period. For U.S. and Canadian history see America: History and Life.
- America: History and Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSelectively indexes and abstracts the scholarly literature on U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Includes citations to journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations. Also includes useful features such as the ability to search by historical time period. For world history, see Historical Abstracts.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearchable full-text and full-image backfiles of scholarly journals, as well as e-books, and primary resources. Subject areas include the arts, humanities, social sciences, science, math, and business. Includes the Artstor Digital Library containing millions of images from the world's museums, archives, and libraries.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Key Resources from the Natural Sciences
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowProduced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), PubMed provides free access to MEDLINE, NLM's database of bibliographic citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. See also MEDLINE.
- MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides article citations from over 4,800 journals published in the United States and seventy other countries. Encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources in allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
- Alt Health Watch (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to over 180 journals, reports, proceedings, and consumer and association newsletters on topics in health care and wellness in the context of complementary and alternative medicine. Includes pamphlets, booklets, special reports, and book excerpts.
- BioMed Central This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to over 200 open access, online, peer-reviewed journals, spanning all areas of biology and medicine, from broad interest titles like BMC Biology and BMC Medicine to more specialized titles like BMC Genomics, BMC Microbiology, and BMC Bioinformatics. Our BioMed Central Supporters Membership also gives all UTSA researchers a 15% discount on article processing charges.
- Biological Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides bibliographic references and abstracts of international life science journal literature. Includes citations to articles about agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology. Only a few people can use this database at one time.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowFeatures full-text scholarly articles from more than 550 journals in the medical sciences. Coverage of nursing and allied health is especially strong. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 850 publications, as well as drug content information (previously included in Clinical Pharmacology). See also Health Source: Consumer Edition.
Key Resources from the Social Sciences
- Anthropological Literature (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSelectively indexes articles and essays in anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary fields from more than 900 journals and monographic series published in English and other European languages.
- PsycINFO (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCovers professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines. Contains over two million citations and summaries of articles from journals, books, book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports. Some full-text.
- Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowFocuses on sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences, indexing and abstracting thousands of titles including journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations.