U.S. Civil War Research

Selectively indexes and abstracts articles on U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Includes citations from more than 2,000 journals published worldwide. Also includes citations of book and media reviews from over 100 key journals in the field.

Selectively indexes and abstracts articles relating to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Includes citations from more than 2,000 journals published worldwide, as well as citations to useful historical books as reviewed by journals in the field.

Searchable full-text and full-image backfiles of scholarly journals, as well as e-books, and primary resources. Subject areas include the arts, humanities, social sciences, science, math, and business. Includes the Artstor Digital Library containing millions of images from the world's museums, archives, and libraries.

Searchable full-text and full-image versions of scholarly journals and e-books from university presses and scholarly societies. Subject areas include the humanities, social sciences, math, and science.

Includes all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world, as well as materials on free African-Americans in the colonies and the U.S. before 1870. Search the entire database or browse by slavery statutes (state and federal), judicial cases, scholarly articles, e-books, bibliography, and external links.

Provides citations and abstracts, as well as full text PDFs, to millions of doctoral dissertations and master's theses from graduate schools and universities around the world. Full text coverage is primarily from 1997 forward, with a significant number of full text titles previous to 1997. Coverage is from 1637 to the present.

Comprehensive online catalog of library holdings locally and worldwide. Lists books, journals, maps, recordings, films, scores, open access resources, and other materials from academic, public, corporate, and specialized libraries. Get It For Me button allows you to request to borrow an item.

Indexes and abstracts journals, books, and U.S. and Canadian government documents on diverse aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. Formerly Bibliography of Native North American Indians.

Contains major full-text reference resources on African American and African history and culture, including "Encyclopedia of African American History"; and the "African American National Biography", as well as articles from other major reference sources. Only a few people can use this database at one time.

Extensive coverage of news, legal and business sources. Contains full text U.S. and foreign newspapers, broadcast transcripts, newswires; company, industry and financial information including Company Dossier, and legal sources for U.S. Federal and State case law, statutes, regulations and law reviews. Create a free profile (optional) to save searches and set up alerts. Updated daily. Coverage: 1975-current. 

Indexes and abstracts more than 9,300 journals with full-text content for more than 5,300. Also indexes/abstracts over 10,000 monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Highly multidisciplinary, this resource covers social sciences, humanities, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.

Offers indexing/abstracting to articles in over 3,300 journals across a wide range of subject areas, more than 1,700 of which are also available in full text. Subject strengths include the arts and humanities, business, education, health, international studies, law, literature, multicultural studies, psychology, the sciences, and the social sciences.