- Find Information
- Research Guides
- SWK 2013: Diversity and Social Justice in San Antonio and Beyond (Todic)
SWK 2013: Diversity and Social Justice in San Antonio and Beyond (Todic)
Special instructions for Prof. Todic's Zine assignment.
Information Specialist
In the Zine Collection
The Zine Collection is an artificial collection assembled by UTSA Libraries Special Collections. It consists of over 250 zines, most of which originate from San Antonio and other locations in Texas.
UTSA's Special Collections are open to all researchers. UTSA affiliation is not required, but we do ask all researchers to provide a photo ID prior to using our materials. Our Special Collections materials do not circulate, so materials must be accessed in our Reading Room on the 4th floor of the John Peace Library.
Please contact us to make an appointment.
Anarchy Live! by Call Number: MS 500: Box 1Publication Date: 2015Michael Kimble is "a 49 yr old, black, gay anarchist serving a life sentence 4 the murder of a white, homophobic, racist bigot." --artist website
- Anarchy Live!Michael Kimble's website.
Holding My Own by Call Number: MS 500: Box 2Publication Date: 2016'Holding My Own' seeks "to highlight and share the struggles, passions, and abilities of LGBTQ prisoners in Texas through their artwork, poems, and essays." --from introduction
- Holding My OwnOn the ATX Anarchist Black Cross website.
No Whites Allowed #1-2 by Call Number: MS 500: Box 3Publication Date: 2018A zine aimed at uplifting queer people of color.
Spiritual and Different #1 by Call Number: MS 500: Box 4Publication Date: 2018A minicomic about the complex relationship queer people of color can have with the Christian church.
- Breena NuñezArtist's website
Straight Passing, But Queer AF by Call Number: MS 500: Box 4Publication Date: 2018A zine described by the author as "Queer Magical Realism".
- Lawrence LindellArtist's website.
Together We Can Break These Chains by Call Number: MS 500: Box 5Publication Date: 2017The creators of this zines hope that it will "highlight and share the struggles, passions, and abilities of trans prisoners in Texas through their artwork, poems, and essays."--Introduction
In the Rare Books Collection
Puro silencio by Call Number: PS3601.L34254 P8 2019Publication Date: 2019The first collection of poetry from the queer Chicanx artist, Marcel Alcalá.
- Puro Silencio by Marcel AlcaláE-Zine published by GenderFail Press.
Chavela Vargas by Call Number: HQ75.3 .A68 v.1 no.1Publication Date: 2009"This first issue in the series, The Life And Times Of Butch Dykes, chronicles the life of legendary Costa Rican born singer Chavela Vargas through bold black and white illustrations accompanied by equally as bold statements covering Vargas vivaciously uncompromising lifestyle."--Printed Matter website
- B&D PressMicro press run by Eloisa Aquino.
JD Samson by
Call Number: HQ75.3 .A68 v.1 no.2Publication Date: 2009"Issue 2, Vol. 1 in the series The Life And Times Of Butch Dykes is devoted to lesbian icon JD Samson, the mustache sporting artist and member of the electropunk band Le Tigre."--Printed Matter websiteGladys Bentley by
Call Number: HQ75.3 .A68 v.1 no.3Publication Date: 2009"Issue 3, Vol. 1 in the series The Life And Times Of Butch Dykes chronicles the life of legendary singer, Gladys Bentley. The larger than life performer typified the cream of lesbian culture in roaring 20s Harlem."--Printed Matter websiteClaude Cahun by
Call Number: HQ75.3 .A68 v.2 no.1Publication Date: 2010"Issue 2, Vol. 2 in the series The Life And Times Of Butch Dykes chronicles the life of Claud Cahun, the influential photographer, performer and writer whose adamant resistance against Nazi and gender conformism has lead her to be a modern lesbian icon."--Printed Matter website
Gertrude Stein by Call Number: HQ75.3 .A68 v.2 no.2Publication Date: 2010"Gertrude Stein – The avant-garde writer was a well of contradictions and her immense influence is felt to this day."--B&D PressMartina Navratilova by
Call Number: HQ75.3 .A68 v.3 no.1Publication Date: 2011"Issue 1, Vol. 3 in the series The Life And Times Of Butch Dykes is devoted to Czech American tennis player, Martina Navratilova."--Printed Matter website
Jenny Shimizu by Call Number: HQ75.3 .A68 v.3 no.2Publication Date: 2011"Jenny Shimizu – First and only Asian American openly gay super model – and very butch on top of that."--B&D PressJudith Butler by
Call Number: HQ75.3 .A68 v.4 no.1Publication Date: 2012"The newest issue in the series, The Life And Times Of Butch Dykes, introduces the reader to literary theorist Judith Butler."--Printed Matter websiteAudre Lorde by
Call Number: HQ75.3 .A68 v.5 no.1Publication Date: 2013"The newest issue in the series, The Life And Times Of Butch Dykes, introduces the reader to black/feminist/lesbian poet Audre Lorde."--Printed Matter websiteBrazilian singers by
Call Number: HQ75.3 .A68 v.6 no.1Publication Date: 2014"Brazilian Singers is a zine published by B&D Press in 2014. Brazilian Singers begins with the mystery that all Brazilian women pop singers are homosexuals. The zine catalogues all of the Brazilian pop singers who are either outwardly gay or ambiguously not straight. Part of the series The Life and Times of Butch Dykes, this zine is one of several zines by B&D Press which seeks to bring visibility to queer women. This zine traces the history of Brazilian culture’s openness to homosexuality throughout the past few decades, and cites this as a reason for why some singers are more openly gay than others."--Printed Matter websiteGloria Anzaldúa by
Call Number: HQ75.3 .A68 v.7 no.1Publication Date: 2015"Gloria Anzaldúa – The poet, theorist, and teacher was a pioneer in Chicano feminism and an experimentalist who created unique and new ways to express 'borderland' ideas." - B&D Press