Library Resources for Business PhD Research Pathway

An overview of library resources for academic research in business disciplines.

Business Databases

In business disciplines, in addition to journal databases, there are specialized resources with content for company, industry, consumer, market research, accounting rules and regulations, etc. Explore Research Guides to get familiar with resources in your discipline.

UTSA Research Guides
Learn about top databases in your subject area.

Mergent Market Atlas
Mergent Market Atlas provides access to company, industry, country, index, ESG and economic data analysis tools and reports. Covers U.S. and foreign public companies, current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, financials, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, and more.
Mergent Market Atlas replaces the previous Mergent Online platform which was retired effective July 1, 2025.
Capital IQ
Data on U.S. and international public and private companies, M&A deals, executives and boards worldwide; news, investment research, and more. Includes powerful screening tools, chart builders, and Office Plug-In modeling tool. By S&P Global. Please note that UTSA does not subscribe to Capital IQ PRO.

Access to Capital IQ is for current faculty, staff, and students only and requires approval by Capital IQ. To request a new Capital IQ account:
1. Click on the Capital IQ database link above; login with abc123 and passphrase; complete DUO authentication.
2. Click on New User in the top right header and enter your utsa.edu email.
3. Check your email box for confirmation and finish the sign-up. Your login credentials will be provided via email from Capital IQ.

Once your Capital IQ account is created, for future access you will need to use the proxied link to Capital IQ above on the library database page, and then your personal Capital IQ credentials to log in.

To download Office Plug-in, go to My Capital IQ tab > My Profile > Downloads. See research guide for more information. You may also complete Capital IQ training at S&P Market Intelligence Academic Resource Center.
GlobalData Explorer
Replaced MarketLine. A powerful platform to explore, analyze, and compare companies, industries, and countries. Over 900,000 public and private companies worldwide across 22 sectors and 120+ subsectors from 200+ countries. Reports include case studies, profiles for companies and industries, SWOT and Five Forces analyses, analyst opinions, value and supply chain reports, macroeconomic data, and more. Additional databases include market analyzers, company filings analytics, social media analytics, deals, city profiles and city economics, global ads from leading brands, product innovation, job analytics, and news. Tools, such as the company screening tool, competitive intelligence tool, analytics hub, and others, enable deeper insights.
SimplyAnalytics
This web-based mapping and data analysis application enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data variables by state, county, city/place, ZIP code, census tract, block group, or custom area.
RIA Checkpoint
Provides access to primary source materials for federal, state, and local tax laws, such as codes, regulations, current pending/enacted legislation, federal tax cases, IRS rulings, etc. Print equivalents include U.S. Tax Reporter, American Federal Tax Reports, Federal Tax Regulations, Federal Tax Coordinator 2d, State and Local Tax Reporters, and others. Includes Federal Accounting Standards Board (FASB) documents. Also includes explanations and analyses of tax laws and cases produced by RIA, such as Federal Tax Coordinator, Return Guides, Citator 2nd, Tax Alerts, Journal of Taxation, Journal of Corporate Taxation, RIA Tax Watch, Bittker & Eustice: Federal Income Taxation of Corporations & Shareholders etc. Only a few people can use this database at one time.