- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Vocal Resources
Vocal Resources
Resources for Voice students, including vocal repertoire, Singing Technique, Translations & Diction, Voice Pedagogy, and how to locate scores, audio, and video.
The Oxford Handbook of Singing
The Oxford Handbook of Singing by Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINE (Partial)ISBN: 9780199660773Publication Date: 2019Complete book available in print: MT820 .O84 2019
A landmark text on the topic, this comprehensive resource is for anyone who wishes to know more about the pluralistic nature of singing. Chapter contents have been clustered into eight main sections, embracing fifty-three chapters by seventy-two authors, including scientists, doctors, teachers and performers from across the world. Each chapter illustrates and illuminates a particular aspect of singing. The handbook offers a multi-disciplinary perspective embracing the arts and humanities, physical, social and clinical sciences.
Books & Ebooks
The Functional Unity of the Singing Voice by Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINEISBN: 0810827085Publication Date: 1994Also available in print: Reserves QP306 .D67 1994. Fundamental to any safe and efficient teaching method is the recognition that the singing voice is a functional unit. This book describes the anatomy and physiology of breathing and phonation and examines the acoustical laws necessary for an understanding of resonation. With extensive bibliography.
Principles of Voice Production by Call Number: Reserves QP306 .T58 1994ISBN: 013717893XPublication Date: 1994A cross-disciplinary exploration of the physics and physiology of voice production, mechanism, and applied uses and concerns of the voice. Throughout, the emphasis is on physical law rather than empirical observation. Key topics include the relation between the physical processes of voice production to other physical processes, inside or outside of the human body, the new field of vocology and clarification of the acoustic and biomechanical laws governing phonation.
Singing: The Mechanism and the Technic by Call Number: MT825 .V466 1967ISBN: 9780825800559Publication Date: 1967Also: Reserves MT825 .V466 1968
Vocal Science for Elite Singers by Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINEISBN: 9781925644029Publication Date: 2018Identifies the research that has been conducted on topics relevant to the singing voice, and explains how the research is pertinent to voice pedagogy. The book is an excellent resource for singers and teachers, whether as an introduction to the burgeoning literature of voice science, or as a review of major research. It offers a number of practical solutions and techniques for elite singers. Many of these techniques evolve from the physiological and scientific examination of the instrument, whilst others are already embodied in the work of the old masters. Three appendixes offer detailed anatomic information and diagrams, and an extensive bibliography rounds out the volume.
Resonance in Singing: Voice building through acoustic feedback by Call Number: Reserves MT820 .M595 2008ISBN: 9780975530757Publication Date: 2008An accessible, yet comprehensive manual to using acoustic feedback in the voice studio. Contains a plethora of musical examples and the author shows the relativity of visual feedback to classical singing technique. CD-ROM contains software and video files.
Voice Science, Acoustics and Recording by Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINEISBN: 1597560782Publication Date: 2007Written for professional voice users, their teachers, and those who care for their voices, this unique book covers voice acoustics, the effect of the acoustics of spaces on the voice, and how to make a voice recording properly. The authors provide an outline of acoustics and the human voice before going on to cover ways in which singers and performers, and their teachers, can improve vocal efficiency and vocal health.
Everyday Voice Care by Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINEISBN: 9781480302440Publication Date: 2012Drawing from her experience as a singer and licensed speech pathologist who has treated more than 1,000 voice patients, Cazden integrates up-to-date medical information with common-sense suggestions and sympathy for the demands of contemporary life. Chapters on food and drink, cold remedies, loud parties, travel, fitness routines, and when to see a doctor are complemented by notes on alternative health care and the spiritual dimension of vocal rest.
The Evolving Singing Voice: Changes Across the LifespanCall Number: AVAILABLE ONLINEISBN: 9781635500448Publication Date: 2018At every age, vocal function is dependent upon how the body is progressively and constantly changing. With the information available in The Evolving Singing Voice, singers and voice pedagogues can begin to see logical and useful correlations between age, vocal function, and vocal expectations over the course of an individual's singing life. Coverage of respiration, vibration, resonation, and expectations for each stage of life Practical, age-related exercises and concepts "Vocal Bundles" to encourage self-evaluation and improve vocal facility.
The Owner's Manual to the Voice by Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINEISBN: 9780199964673Publication Date: 2013Singers must equip themselves with enough knowledge to clearly convey specific sensations and difficulties with their instrument. Understanding of potential dangers and disorders, familiarity with a variety of medical procedures, and comprehension in various facets of diagnosis and treatments is important. Beginning with an overview of the vocal anatomy, the authors proceed through detailed discussions of caring for the voice and common causes of vocal changes and problems before guiding the reader through the process of choosing, talking to, and working with an ENT.
Your Voice: An inside view by Call Number: Reserves MT821 .M36 2012ISBN: 9780975530788Publication Date: 2012Voice science and pedagogy are presented through an interactive textbook with supporting multimedia computer program, published on CD-ROM.
A Spectrum of Voices: Prominent American voice teachers discuss the teaching of singing by Call Number: Reserves MT820 .B63 2002ISBN: 0810844079Publication Date: 2002The first book in the field of vocal pedagogy that draws on the brilliance and combined experience represented by an elite group of exemplary voice teachers. This research study and resulting book does not promote one teacher's perspective, nor does it promote one particular approach, but instead distills the best from the best, presenting nearly 30 quoted interviews from teachers of note.
Teaching Singing in the 21st Century by Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINEISBN: 9789401788519Publication Date: 2014This volume brings together a group of leading international researchers and practitioners in voice pedagogy alongside emerging academics and practitioners. Encompassing research across voice science and pedagogy, this collection transcends genre boundaries and provides new knowledge about vocal styles and approaches from classical and musical theatre to contemporary commercial music.
Music Learning and Teaching in Socially and Culturally Diverse Contexts by Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINEISBN: 9783319954073Publication Date: 2018The author presents case studies from diverse music learning and teaching contexts to compare the modes of transmission teachers use to share their music knowledge and skills, highlighting the need for culturally appropriate approaches to music planning, assessment and curricula. It is imperative to understand the ways in which culture and society can in fact influence music teachers' beliefs and experiences: and in understanding, there is potential to improve intercultural approaches to music education more generally.
Bel Canto by Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINEISBN: 9780486172866Publication Date: 2014This volume embodies Madame Marchesi's "vocal alphabet," or basic instructions and exercises that formed the voices of her great pupils. An introductory text discusses breathing, attack, registers, and similar matters, while the remainder of the book contains many exercises that teach voice management and projections. Marchesi's book is today even more important than when it first appeared, for it offers the basis for a construction of the bel canto training system.
Choral Pedagogy, Third Edition by Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINEISBN: 1597566063Publication Date: 2013Concisely and clearly presents the principles of voice pedagogy from the perspective of both conducting and voice science, with helpful charts and simple anatomic diagrams. It offers teaching methods from history and philosophy, medical and voice science, and pedagogical concepts from active musical experts.
