- Find Information
- Research Guides
- PTS Post Traumatic Stress
PTS Post Traumatic Stress
These two databases are the best, though certainly not the only, indexes to search for research articles on PTSD. The first is a free index hosted by the National Center for PTSD. To find the full text of the article, search UTSA Libraries Quick Search for the title of the journal. If UTSA does not subscribe to the journal you need, enter the citation information in Get It For Me and we will get you a copy of the article. If you are searching PsycInfo, click on the Find It @ UTSA button in each citation to get the article or book.
- PTSDpubs (formerly PILOTS) This link opens in a new windowThe PILOTS bibliographic database is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for PTSD in White River Junction, Vermont, and is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.
- PsycINFO (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCovers professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines. Contains over two million citations and summaries of articles from journals, books, book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports. Some full-text.
- Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIndexes over 1,500 serial publications focused on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development. Includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, as well as citations to book reviews.
The indexes (databases) above will search thousands of journals in the social sciences for articles. The following are journals that focus exclusively on PTSD.
- PTSD Research QuarterlyThe National Center for PTSD produces the newsletter: PTSD Research Quarterly (RQ). Each RQ contains a review article written by guest experts on specific topics related to PTSD. The article also has a selective bibliography with abstracts and a supplementary list of annotated citations.
Books on PTSD
Search using the Library Quick Search box for PTSD or post-traumatic stress disorder. To focus your search you can add additional search terms such as treatment, military or abused.
The list below is a selection from the many titles on the subject in the UTSA Libraries. Click on the title to find the location and lending status of the book. Use Get It For Me to have the book sent from one campus to another.
- Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy for PTSD by Claudia Zayfert; Carolyn Black Becker; Jacqueline B. Persons (Notes by)Call Number: RC552.P67 C644 2007Publication Date: 2006
- Trauma, Culture, and PTSD by C. Fred AlfordCall Number: ebookPublication Date: 2016
- At War with PTSD by Robert N. McLayPublication Date: 2012
- Sentiment Analysis for PTSD Signals by Vadim Kagan; Edward Rossini; Demetrios SapounasCall Number: ebookPublication Date: 2013
- Shell Shock to PTSD by Edgar Jones; Simon WesselyPublication Date: 2006Print: UH629 .J66 2005, JPL 3rd Floor