- Find Information
- Research Guides
- HIS 4973 / AMS 4973: Madness in American Society (Clinton)
HIS 4973 / AMS 4973: Madness in American Society (Clinton)
Research tips and resources for the study of the history of madness in American society
Related Guides
Librarian
Research Tips
- Research Tips for History StudentsFollow these expert tips to make the most of your research and save time.
Relevant Bibliographies
Bibliographies, or lists of sources, can be a useful starting point for your research. Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) is a database that contains bibliographies on almost any subject with recommendations for scholarship at all levels, whether encyclopedias and textbooks or journal articles and primary sources. For each topic in OBO, you'll find bibliographic essays and annotated citations. The content is selective and peer-reviewed, chosen by experts in their disciplines.
The first two links below go to specific topics in Oxford Bibliographies Online that may be particularly useful for this course because they focus on History. You may also wish to search the entire OBO database (third link below) using terms such as: madness, insanity, mental health, mental illness, psychology, psychiatry, etc.
Finding Secondary Sources
- Google ScholarSearches scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- How to Use Google Scholar Off CampusDue to recent changes made by Google, you'll need to do a one-time set-up for your account to access full-text articles available through UTSA Libraries. Step by step instructions provided.
- America: History and Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSelectively indexes and abstracts the scholarly literature on U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Includes citations to journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations. Also includes useful features such as the ability to search by historical time period. For world history, see Historical Abstracts.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearchable full-text and full-image backfiles of scholarly journals, as well as e-books, and primary resources. Subject areas include the arts, humanities, social sciences, science, math, and business. Includes the Artstor Digital Library containing millions of images from the world's museums, archives, and libraries.
- PsycINFO (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCovers professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines. Contains over two million citations and summaries of articles from journals, books, book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports. Some full-text.
- PTSDpubs (formerly PILOTS) This link opens in a new windowCovers the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress. Includes citations to literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
Also freely available through U.S. Veterans Affairs. - Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and abstracts, as well as full text PDFs, to millions of doctoral dissertations and master's theses from graduate schools and universities around the world. Full text coverage is primarily from 1997 forward, with a significant number of full text titles previous to 1997. Coverage is from 1637 to the present.
Selected Peer Reviewed Journals
Selected Books
Madness: Race and Insanity in a Jim Crow Asylum
Antonia Hylton
Madness: A Brief History
Roy Porter
Suspicious Minds: How Culture Shapes Madness
Ian Gold; Joel Gold
An Unquiet Mind
Kay Redfield Jamison
Unspeakable: The Story of Junius Wilson
Susan Burch; Hannah Joyner
Madness in America: Cultural and Medical Perceptions of Mental Illness before 1914
Lynn Gamwell; Nancy Tomes
Get Items from Other Libraries
- WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive online catalog of library holdings locally and worldwide. Lists books, journals, maps, recordings, films, scores, open access resources, and other materials from academic, public, corporate, and specialized libraries. Get It For Me button allows you to request to borrow an item.
- Get It for MeInterlibrary loan, document delivery, transport items between JPL and Downtown Library.
- TexShareTexShare is a statewide library resource-sharing program. It allows users from one library to check out library materials at other participating libraries.