Prerequisites: CS 3424 and CS 3443. Network architecture, TCP/IP protocol suite, routing, data-link layer protocols, medium access control protocols, error detection and recovery, local area networks, wireless and mobile networks. (Formerly CS 4873. Credit cannot be earned for both CS 3873 and CS 4873.) Generally offered: Spring. Differential Tuition: $150. Course Fee: IUCS $45.
Textbook: "Computer Networking: A Top-Down Approach" by James Kurose & Keith Ross
Computer Networking by James Kurose; Keith RossKEY BENEFIT: Unique among computer networking texts, the Seventh Edition of the popular Computer Networking: A Top Down Approach builds on the author's long tradition of teaching this complex subject through a layered approach in a "top-down manner." The text works its way from the application layer down toward the physical layer, motivating readers by exposing them to important concepts early in their study of networking. Focusing on the Internet and the fundamentally important issues of networking, this text provides an excellent foundation for readers interested in computer science and electrical engineering, without requiring extensive knowledge of programming or mathematics. The Seventh Edition has been updated to reflect the most important and exciting recent advances in networking. KEY TOPICS: Computer Networks and the Internet; Application Layer; Transport Layer; The Network Layer: Data Plane; The Network Layer: Control Plane; The Link Layer: Links, Access Networks, and LANs; Wireless and Mobile Networks; Security in Computer Networks; Multimedia Networking MARKET: For anyone interested in computer networking.
TCP/IP illustrated by W. Richard Stevens; Kevin R. FallTCP/IP Illustrated, Volume 1 is a detailed and visual guide to today's TCP/IP protocol suite. Fully updated for the newest innovations, it demonstrates each protocol in action through realistic examples from modern Linux, Windows, and Mac OS environments. There's no better way to discover why TCP/IP works as it does, how it reacts to common conditions, and how to apply it in your own applications and networks. Building on the late W. Richard Stevens' classic first edition, author Kevin R. Fall adds his cutting-edge experience as a leader in TCP/IP protocol research, updating the book to fully reflect the latest protocols and best practices. He first introduces TCP/IP's core goals and architectural concepts, showing how they can robustly connect diverse networks and support multiple services running concurrently. Next, he carefully explains Internet addressing in both IPv4 and IPv6 networks. Then, he walks through TCP/IP's structure and function from the bottom up: from link layer protocols-such as Ethernet and Wi-Fi-through network, transport, and application layers. Fall thoroughly introduces ARP, DHCP, NAT, firewalls, ICMPv4/ICMPv6, broadcasting, multicasting, UDP, DNS, and much more. He offers extensive coverage of reliable transport and TCP, including connection management, timeout, retransmission, interactive data flow, and congestion control. Finally, he introduces the basics of security and cryptography, and illuminates the crucial modern protocols for protecting security and privacy, including EAP, IPsec, TLS, DNSSEC, and DKIM. Whatever your TCP/IP experience, this book will help you gain a deeper, more intuitive understanding of the entire protocol suite so you can build better applications and run more reliable, efficient networks.
Call Number: Full text at: Safari (O’Reilly for Higher Education)
Publication Date: 2011
CCNA 200-301 Official Cert Guide Library by Wendell Odom; Bradley EdgeworthCisco Press has the only study guides approved by Cisco for the new CCNA certification. The new edition of the best-selling two-book CCNA 200-301 Official Cert Guide Library includes updated content, new online practice exercises, more than 600 practice exam questions, and more than 2 hours of video training--PLUS the CCNA Network Simulator Lite Editions with 34 free Network Simulator labs. *Note: this pack contains a copy of Volume 1 and Volume 2. You can choose to purchase separately, each volume as either a print version or as eBook.CCNA 200-301 Official Cert Guide Library is a comprehensive review and practice package for the latest CCNA exam and is the only self-study resource approved by Cisco. The two books contained in this package, CCNA 200-301 Official Cert Guide, Volume 1 and CCNA 200-301 Official Cert Guide, Volume 2, present complete reviews and a more challenging and realistic preparation experience. The books have been fully updated to refresh the content for the latest CCNA exam topics and to enhance certain key topics that are critical for exam success. Best-selling author Wendell Odom shares preparation hints and test-taking tips, helping you identify areas of weakness and improve both your conceptual knowledge and hands-on skills. This complete study package includes A test-preparation routine proven to help you pass the exams Do I Know This Already? quizzes, which enable you to decide how much time you need to spend on each section Chapter-ending Key Topic tables, which help you drill on key concepts you must know thoroughly The powerful Pearson Test Prep Practice Test software, complete with hundreds of well-reviewed, exam-realistic questions, customisation options, and detailed performance reports A free copy of the CCNA 200-301 Network Simulator Lite software, complete with meaningful lab exercises that help you hone your hands-on skills with the command-line interface for routers and switches Links to a series of hands-on config labs developed by the author Online interactive practice exercises that help you enhance your knowledge More than 2 hours of video mentoring from the author An online interactive Flash Cards application to help you drill on Key Terms by chapter A final preparation chapter, which guides you through tools and resources to help you craft your review and test-taking strategies Study plan suggestions and templates to help you organise and optimise your study time,/ul>
Call Number: Full text at: Safari (O’Reilly for Higher Education)
The RFC series - contains technical and organizational documents about the Internet, including the specifications and policy documents produced by four streams: the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF), the Internet Research Task Force (IRTF), the Internet Architecture Board (IAB), and Independent Submissions.
Wireshark is a network packet analyzer. A network packet analyzer presents captured packet data in as much detail as possible. You could think of a network packet analyzer as a measuring device for examining what’s happening inside a network cable, just like an electrician uses a voltmeter for examining what’s happening inside an electric cable (but at a higher level, of course).