Microforms Research

Major research and primary documents collections on microfilm and microfiche at the UTSA Libraries.

Government Documents Librarian

Rita Wilson's picture
Rita Wilson
Contact:
UTSA Libraries -- Main Campus
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, Texas 78249
210-458-7572

Microfilm vs Microfiche

Microfilm

Microfiche

Microfiche

Other Research Guides

Microfilm & Microfiche Collections

Listed here are most of the major microfilm and microfiche collections at the UTSA Libraries.  This list is not necessarily complete.  Check UCAT, the UTSA Library Online Catalog, for information on a specific collection or for complete holdings.  Some collections have individual holdings in UCAT.  Other collections rely on print or online finding aids.  Occasionally the title lists are at the beginning of the reels. 

Microform Readers

microfilm scanner image

The UTSA Libraries has microform readers at both the Main and Downtown Campus Libraries.

The John  Peace Library at the Main Campus has a new ST View Scan III from STimaging located on the 2nd Floor near the Team Spot room.  More details from STimaging.  Quick instructions available next to the scanner.

Downtown Library has Scan Pro 2000 microform reader/scanner which handles both microfilm and microfiche.  The units include a fast, high resolution optical zoom lens.  The unit can magnify and scan in various formats including PDF, JPEG and TIFF.  

Send your print jobs to Print Smart (current UTSA students, faculty and staff only), download to a flash drive, or email the images.  

Help: Ask library staff at the Front Desk or Information Desk for help locating and using microfilm or microfiche.

Location of readers: Microform readers are at both JPL (on 2nd floor) and Downtown.

Guests or students not currently registered: Ask a staff member at the Front Desk to log you on as a guest to use the microform readers.  Printing not available for guests but images can be downloaded to a flash drive or sent as attachments to your email account. 

Location of Microform Collection

Microfilm / microfiche collections are in the Current Periodicals Room on JPL 4th Floor.  For assistance, ask at the Information or Front Desk on the 2nd Floor.   If you have a specific article in a journal on microfilm, current students, faculty and staff can request a free copy through Get It For Me

What is Microfilm?

Microform
Printed material that has been photographed and reduced to a film format to help preserve the material and decrease the space needed for storage. The UTSA Libraries has the special equipment needed to view and print the stored information. Typical formats include microfilm and microfiche. 

Microfilm
A reel of film containing reduced images of pages in a book, journal, newspaper or other printed material. Reels are readable on special microfilm readers located at both the JPL (2nd Floor) and Downtown Campus. 

Microfiche
A flat, plastic sheet containing microimages of pages in a book, journal, newspaper or other printed material and read using a special machine.  Microfiche readers are located at both the JPL (2nd Floor) and Downtown Campus.

Ask staff at the Information Desk or Front Desk for help in locating and using microfilm and microfiche.