Theses and Dissertations

A guide to finding dissertations and theses including those authored by UTSA students.

Current Requirements for UTSA Theses and Dissertations

As of the Fall 2023 semester, the UTSA Graduate School requires that all theses and dissertations are submitted electronically to both the ProQuest Theses and Dissertations database and UTSA's open access repository, the Runner Research Press. Information about the submission process and deadlines can be found on the Graduate School's website below. 

About UTSA Theses & Dissertations

Timeframe Format Where to Find
1974 -  2013 

Hard copy in Library Quick Search

  • 2 print copies (circulating + archival); some microfiche
  • No hard copies after Fall 2013 semester
 Library Quick Search

1996 - current

 

2014 - current

Online in ProQuest Dissertations & Theses for UTSA users only

  • Selected coverage starting in 1996
  • All UTSA theses and dissertation are required to be submitted to ProQuest Dissertations electronically starting in Spring 2014.

Library Quick Search

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses 

 

2010 - current

 

 

Online in Runner Research Press

  • Comprehensive coverage since 2014
  • Open access with author permission for 2014-2023; some restricted to UTSA users
  • All new UTSA theses and dissertation are required to be submitted to Runner Research Press electronically starting in Fall 2023, open access with embargo options.

Library Quick Search

Runner Research Press

Contact the Scholarly Communication Librarian for assistance locating a UTSA theses or dissertation.

Explore these resources to find UTSA theses and dissertations:

Find UTSA Theses and Dissertations in Library Quick Search

Search for All UTSA Theses and Dissertations

You may use Library Quick Search to find both print and electronic UTSA theses and dissertations from the Catalog, ProQuest Dissertations database and Runner Research Press.

Select the following:

  • Search for: Catalog
  • Any Field - Contains - "university of texas at san antonio" [in quotation marks]
  • Material Type - Equals - Dissertations

 Screenshot of Quick Search Advanced Search screen, with the first search row showing Any Field contains "university of texas at san antonio", and the Material Type field showing "Dissertations

 

To limit your search to only items that are available in print or electronically, use the "Refine Your Search" option on the left of the search results:

Screenshot of the availability facet in Library Quick Search, showing options to select Available online, held by library, and open access

 

Because electronic theses and dissertations are available in different places (including Runner Research Press and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database), you may see duplicate results for the same title.

In addition to searching all theses and dissertations, you can also further target your search. 

Search by Author or Title

To search for a thesis or dissertation by a particular person or by a known title:

  • Author - Contains - [author name] AND Material Type - Equals - Dissertations
  • Title - Contains - [title name] AND Material Type - Equals - Dissertations

If you are not sure about the exact title, try searching by topic.

Search by Topic

To search for theses and dissertations on a particular topic:

  • Any Field - Contains - "university of texas at san antonio" [in quotation marks] AND Any Field - Contains - [subject area or department name ] AND Material Type - Equals - Dissertations
  • If needed, add additional rows for Any Field - Contains - [keywords]

We occasionally purchase theses and dissertations from other institutions that are of interest to our patrons. These items are cataloged and classified by subject, and are therefore intermingled in the stacks. Searching Catalog will retrieve these items as well.

UTSA Official Guidelines for Submission

Please consult with your department and the Graduate School about formatting and citing style for your dissertation or thesis. Questions about formatting should be directed to The Graduate School staff via gps@utsa.edu.