This is the "Find Dissertations & Theses" page of the "Dissertations & Theses" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Dissertations & Theses   Tags: dissertation, thesis  

Find out how to find dissertations/theses or how to submit your own dissertation/thesis at UTSA.
Last Updated: Aug 7, 2014 URL: http://libguides.utsa.edu/dt Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Find Dissertations & Theses Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Getting Started

The Graduate School eliminated the hard copy requirement for theses and dissertations beginning Spring semester 2014, therefore the Libraries will not have hard copies beyond Fall semester 2013.

Until Spring semester 2014, each UTSA student who completed a thesis or dissertation submitted two unbound copies to the Graduate School (1974-2013).  These two copies were sent to the Libraries. One copy was added to the circulating collection and another was sent to the UTSA Archives. 

Currenlty, all UTSA theses and dissertations are submitted electronically to ProQuest Dissertations and Theses.

If you are seeking a thesis or dissertation produced at UTSA, searching in UCAT will tell you exactly where you can find it. All UTSA theses and dissertations are shelved in approximately the same location with similar call numbers, so remember to write down the exact call number before heading for the stacks.

The UTSA Libraries occasionally purchases theses and dissertations from other institutions that are of interest to our patrons. These items are cataloged and classified by subject, and are therefore intermingled in the stacks. Searching UCAT will retrieve these items as well.

Some theses and dissertations are available on microfilm.

Find Disserations and Theses

  • ProQuest Disserations and Theses  
      
    Provides citations and full-image access to doctoral dissertations and master's theses from more than 1,000 graduate schools and universities. Abstracts are provided for dissertations beginning in 1980 and for master's theses beginning in 1988. Full-image PDFs are available for most titles published since 1997 and a limited number of titles previous to 1997. Coverage is from 1861 to the present.
  • Dissertations and Theses @UTSA
    Doctoral dissertations and master's theses electronically submitted by UTSA students to ProQuest.
  • WorldCat
    Find materials in thousands of libraries throughout the world. To locate dissertations, in Sybtype Limits select Thesis/Dissertation.
  • WorldCat Dissertations
    Lists bibliographic information for all theses and dissertations indexed in WorldCat. Over 8 mln. records.
  • Foreign Dissertations at the Center for Research Libraries
    Over 750,000 doctoral dissertations from universities outside of the U.S. and Canada. The collection was built by deposits from member libraries and current exchange or depository arrangements with almost 100 universities. Review the Topic Guide on Dissertations for more information. Requests to purchase foreign dissertations may be submitted to CRL.
  • Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
    NDLTD is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.
  • Open Access Theses and Dissertations
    A portal of freely accessible ETDs from over 800 institutions worldwide.
 

Find UTSA Theses & Dissertations

1. Use ProQuest Dissertations and Theses @ UTSA to locate electronically submitted documents. Through dropdown menus you may search by academic advisor, committee member, and more.

2. Use UCAT to locate UTSA dissertations and theses in hard copy (1974-2013). It takes about two months to process newly submitted dissertations and theses and receive them from the bindery.

3. Please note that the Graduate School eliminated the hard copy requirement for theses and dissertations beginning Spring semester 2014, therefore the Libraries will not have hard copies beyond Fall semester 2013.

Advanced Search options include:

  • Author 
  • Keyword Anywhere:                             "university of texas at san antonio" and thesis and economics
  • Predefined search boxes: 

 

Librarian

Profile Image
Natasha Arguello
Contact Info
UTSA Library
JPL Reference
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, TX 78249
210.458.7444
Send Email
 

Recommend a Purchase

If you are unable to obtain a dissertation, and it is vital for your research purposes, you may submit a purchase request to the Collection Development department.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip