- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Germany and the Holocaust
Germany and the Holocaust
Resources for a study of the Holocaust in history, literature, film, and art.
What made the Holocaust possible? This 38-minute film from the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum website examines the Nazis' rise to power in Germany and their persecution of Jews and other innocent civilian groups. Full transcript available.
Informational and Primary Source Websites
- United States Holocaust Memorial MuseumBrowse survivor testimonies, view online exhibits and maps, follow the events timeline, and search the Holocaust Encyclopedia.
- Yad Vashem: The Holocaust Martyrs and Heroes Remembrance AuthoritySearch the online photo archives, database of Shoah victims' names, and database of Righteous Among the Nations.
- USC Shoah Foundation: The Institute for Visual History and EducationView online exhibits and film clips. Search the Foundation's Visual History Archive and view nearly 52,000 audiovisual testimonies of Holocaust and other genocide survivors and witnesses.
- Voice/Vision Holocaust Survivor Oral History ArchiveA repository of Holocaust survivor histories.
- Voices of the HolocaustIn 1946, Dr. David P. Boder, a psychology professor from Chicago's Illinois Institute of Technology, traveled to Europe to record the stories of Holocaust survivors in their own words. This online archive preserves these recordings--the earliest known oral histories of the Holocaust.
- The German Resistance Memorial CenterThe "Topics" section of the website provides an in-depth overview of the entire social breadth and ideological diversity of the fight against National Socialism, including biographies of key individuals. Facsimiles of original documents of resistance against National Socialism are also available for free download.
- The International Military Tribunal for Germany - Contents of The Nuremberg Trials CollectionEnglish transcripts of the Nuremberg Trials from the Avalon Project at the Yale Law School.
- Holocaust Memorial Museum of San AntonioProvides education through exhibits, workshops and seminars. A program of the Jewish Federation of San Antonio.
- Internet History Sourcebook: The HolocaustA compilation of links about the Holocaust from Fordham University.
- German History in Documents and Images-GHDIA collection of original historical materials documenting German history from the beginning of the early modern period to the present, including Nazi Germany. Includes primary documents, images, and maps.
- The Nizkor ProjectContains a large amount of historical evidence about the Holocaust. It also deals with Holocaust denial.
- Information Portal to European Sites of RemembranceA selection of links to memorials and museums that commemorate Holocaust victims. A map aids in the identification of locations throughout Europe. Includes images and histories.
- Museum of the History of Polish JewsOf particular interest is the section called "Our Websites" which features a "Virtual Shtetl," a website documenting stories of the Polish Righteous and the Central Justice Database containing photographs of objects and documents pertaining to Jewish culture.
- Musmanno Collection -- Interrogations of Hitler AssociatesThe collection contains information gathered from personal interviews with Hitler's secretaries, his dentist, many of the top Reich generals, and other persons who knew of or about Hitler.