- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Historical Newspapers
Historical Newspapers
A guide to library and online sources for major U.S. newspapers, papers from Texas and San Antonio, as well as ethnic papers of the African American, Hispanic, and Latin American communities.
San Antonio Newspapers
- San Antonio Express-News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window2018-current – full image
1990-current (text only) Excludes articles excerpted from other news sources, paid ads and obituaries.
1867-2018 – full image (incomplete)
2016-current – (text only) Web edition articles
Other sources:
JPL 4th Floor Microfilm: AN2 .S3 E9 (1868 - current) (with gaps)
Index (print): JPL 3rd Floor AI21 .S3 S26 (1988-1995)
San Antonio Express-News Photograph Collection (1941-1989) - San Antonio Express (Historical) (NewsBank) This link opens in a new windowFull-image of Texas’ oldest major newspaper, which began as a weekly in 1865. Includes ads, classifieds, photos & graphics as well as local, national and international news stories. Collection is still being digitized with more issues forthcoming.
Current coverage: 1867-1875, 1898-1906, 1911-2018
- It's Only Rock 'N' RollIt’s Only Rock ’N’ Roll was an indie music newspaper published in San Antonio from May 1978 to April 1982. The publication chronicled the rise of punk and New Wave music in San Antonio and Austin.
- La Prensa - San AntonioSan Antonio bilingual newspaper
Ceased publication June 2018
Microfilm: AN2 .S3 P74 (1913-2002) (JPL 4th Floor Current Periodicals)
Archival copies: Special Collections
Full-Text Electronic Access (1991-June 2018): Ethnic NewsWatch
Portal to Texas History (1913-1923) (open access) - PaisanoFree via web. Student Publication University of Texas at San Antonio
Free via web: UTSA Digital Collection (1981-1998)
Print: Kept for one year only
Other Holdings see Library Quick Search - San Antonio Alamo Star / HeraldFree archive. The San Antonio Alamo Star was renamed the San Antonio Herald in 1855. The Herald was taken over by the San Antonio Daily Times in 1880.
Microfilm: AN2 .S3 H47 (1855-1878) (JPL) - San Antonio Business JournalOnline: American City Business Journals
Users must login with their UTSA email address for access.
Current and Archive (Includes Book of Lists)
Paper: Current issues. (JPL & Downtown)
Microfilm: HF5500 .AS26 (Jan. 1989 - Jan. 1996 ) (JPL)
Free Via Web (current only) - San Antonio LightOnline access to selected issues through Newspaper Archive Texas Collection (1882 - 1977) (UTSA subscription)
JPL 4th Floor Microfilm: AN 2 .S3 L53 (1987 -1993)
Other sources for microfilm: Trinity University (1882 -1992) and San Antonio College (1967-1993)
Photo Archive (UTSA Special Collections Digital Archive)
Portal to Texas History (1883 -1886) (open access)
Paper: Ceased publication 1/28/93
Earlier names: San Antonio Daily Light (1884 -1907)
Light and Gazette.(1907 -2011) - San Antonio RegisterLocally focused, Black-oriented weekly newspaper.
Paper: Current in Special Collections (John Peace Library)
Microfilm: AN 2 .S3 R43 (1931-2002) (John Peace Library)
Legacy Index: San Antonio Register Index (May 29, 1931 - 1959)
Portal to Texas History (1931-2000)
Historical Texas News Online
- NewspaperArchive: Texas Collection This link opens in a new windowSearchable full image access to many historical newspapers from all across Texas, including the San Antonio Light (1882 -1977) and the San Antonio Express News (1865-1974). (Some years are incomplete.) Database covers 1813-2022.
- Portal to Texas History: NewspapersA digital gateway to historical materials from private collectors and collaborative partners, including libraries, museums, archives, and other historical groups.
- Texas Digital Newspaper Program - List of Newspapers on the PortalNewspapers are listed alphabetically with dates of coverage. The Texas Digital Newspaper Program is a partnership intended to create a digitized newspaper resource that covers a broad geographical area.
- Texas Newspapers (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window131 Texas news sources containing staff-authored articles but not including paid obituaries, advertising, and some free-lance material.
- Austin American Statesman (Historical) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCovers 1871-1980. Includes the complete paper-cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. Especially strong in central Texas political reporting.
- Dallas Morning News Historical Archive (NewsBank) This link opens in a new windowA historical archive of one of Texas's oldest continuously published newspapers and a paper of record for major news, key events, and personalities in Texas history. Broad state and regional coverage, from 1885-1977.
- El Paso Herald and El Paso Times (Historical) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowEl Paso Times (1881-2009) and El Paso Herald (1896-1996). Includes the complete paper cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersSearch and view more than a million digitized newspaper pages. Coverage is from 1756-1963. Sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
- African American Newspapers from Chronicling America (Library of Congress)Currently includes 43 African American newspapers published around the United States from 1836-1922. The number of available issues per paper varies. Includes the Dallas Express.
Borderland Collection
- Texas Borderlands Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new windowThis collection contains scanned images of historical newspapers (1887-1997) from counties at or near the Texas border. Includes titles published in Spanish and French as well as English. Freely available from University of North Texas Portal to Texas History.
- Chicano Serial Collection (Borderland Newspapers)Call Number: E184 .M5 C461
JPL 4th Floor Microfilm Cabinet
We have:
sect.1 - sect.9,
sect.11 - sect. 15,
sect.17
Information Guide
Lists of Newspapers published in Texas, 1813-1846
- Texas Newspapers, 1813-1939. A Union List of Newspaper Files Available in Offices of Publishers, Libraries, and a Number of Private Collections byCall Number: Z6952 .T5 H57 1941JPL 4th Floor Special Collections, John Peace Collection
- Gaceta to Gazette: A Check List of Texas Newspapers, 1813-1846 byCall Number: Z6952.T5 W3 1966JPL 4th Floor Special Collections
Alphabetical list of Texas newspapers, with descriptions. Geographic index included.