This unique book informs elementary school counselor practice in a positive way that changes the lives of students with learning disabilities by helping to engage them in their learning in an effective and concrete manner. Through a comprehensive lens, this book gives elementary school counselors the tools they need to work with students with learning disabilities in a school setting, starting with an overview of learning disabilities as they apply to the role of the elementary school counselor. The second part of the book then explores these topics in depth with a step-by-step program for creating counselor-led groups for elementary school students with learning disabilities. The 6-to-8-week plan outlines how elementary school counselors can create and implement the program in their own schools and is accompanied by worksheets and handouts to help engage students. Exceptionally beneficial for elementary school counselors and graduate students in school counseling programs, it is a guide book for counselors working with elementary school students with learning disabilities.
The mission of this forty-eight chapter Handbook is to provide a comprehensive reference source that integrates counseling theory, research and practice into one volume. It is designed to meet the needs of entry-level practitioners from their initial placement in schools through their first three to five years of practice. It will also be of interest to experienced school counselors, counselor educators, school researchers, and counseling representatives within state and local governments.
Professional school counselors (PSCs) continue to experience challenges in implementing comprehensive school counseling programs. This article reviews the pertinent literature for recommendations on best practices PSCs can use to advocate for their professional role as leaders, advocates, and change agents.
Selectively indexes materials, including more than 125 journals, on Mexican-American topics and about Chicanos from 1967 to the present. Incorporates the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, an indexing and abstracting resource covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature. From 1992 on includes the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.
Provides article citations from over 4,800 journals published in the United States and seventy other countries. Encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources in allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Covers professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines. Contains over two million citations and summaries of articles from journals, books, book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports. Includes links to full-text articles available from Psychology Database and PsycArticles.
A collection of testing literature culled from researchers, peer-reviewed journals, books and handbooks, dissertations, websites, the Archives of the History of American Psychology Test Collection, and commercial test publishers. Includes information on test development, review, usage, and actual testing instruments. Tests are on a wide range of subjects, including developmental, personality, intelligence, military, and more. Coverage 1910-present. Updated monthly.
Covers the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress. Includes citations to literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
Indexes over 1,500 serial publications focused on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development. Includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, as well as citations to book reviews.
Contributors to the Journal of Psychologists and Counsellors in Schools are from diverse backgrounds and focus on both educational and psychological topics. Articles address theoretical, practical and training issues that impact upon guidance and counselling professionals today.
Professional School Counseling, the flagship journal of the American School Counselor Association, is a rigorous peer-reviewed journal that publishes high-quality manuscripts on theory, research and best practices for the profession. Also explored are techniques, materials and ideas to assist school counselors and related practitioners at all levels in their professional development.