The benefits of music in our lives are increasingly acknowledged by researchers and scientist. As human beings, we have taken the existence of music for granted and rarely think critically about music and its purpose. Perhaps for this reason, such critical thinking about music is sometimes perceived as difficult. Understanding Music: Past and Present creates a roadmap from some of the earliest known origins of music to modern day. This linear approach allows the reader to trace the history and evolution of music through the ages. Understanding Music: Past and Present is designed to grow the reader's appreciation of music through improved understanding and listening skills, allowing the reader to develop his or her own informed opinions and express them. Sponsored by eCore: eCore is a collaborative program that supports online core courses for students from twenty-five University System of Georgia colleges and universities. In an effort to decrease out-of-pocket costs for students in higher education, eCore Curriculum & Instruction has made great strides over the last few years to design, develop, and adopt Open Educational Resources into the curriculum offerings. eCore partners with the University of North Georgia Press and Affordable Learning Georgia to provide no-cost and low-cost textbooks and materials to its students. OERs are currently available in most of eCore's twenty-six course offerings, with a goal to implement OERs into 100% of the course offerings.
MUS 2623: Fundamentals of Music for the Non-Music Major
The course has a number of interrelated objectives:
1. To introduce you to works representative of a variety of music traditions. These include the repertoires of Western Europe from the Middle Ages through the present; of the United States, including art music, jazz, folk, rock, musical theater; and from at least two non-Western world areas (Africa, Asia, Latin America, the Caribbean, the Middle East, Indian subcontinent).
2. To enable you to speak and write about the features of the music you study, employing vocabulary and concepts of melody, rhythm, harmony, texture, timbre, and form used by musicians.
3. To explore with you the historic, social, and cultural contexts and the role of class, ethnicity, and gender in the creation and performance of music, including practices of improvisation and the implications of oral and notated transmission.
4. To acquaint you with the sources of musical sounds—instruments and voices from different cultures, found sounds, electronically generated sounds; basic principles that determine pitch and timbre.
5. To examine the influence of technology, mass media, globalization, and transnational currents on the music of today.
The chapters in this reader contain definitions and explanations of musical terms and concepts, short essays on subjects related to music as a creative performing art, biographical sketches of major figures in music, and historical and cultural background information on music from different periods and places.
Understanding Music: Past and Present is an open Music Appreciation textbook co-authored by music faculty across Georgia. The text covers the fundamentals of music and the physics of sound, an exploration of music from the Middle Ages to the present day, and a final chapter on popular music in the United States.
This course is an investigation into the history and aesthetics of music and technology as deployed in experimental and popular musics from the 19th century to the present. Through original research, creative hands-on projects, readings, and lectures, the following topics will be explored. The history of radio, audio recording, and the recording studio, as well as the development of musique concr?te and early electronic instruments. The creation and extension of musical interfaces by composers such as Harry Partch, John Cage, Conlon Nancarrow, and others. The exploration of electromagnetic technologies in pickups, and the development of dub, hip-hop, and turntablism. The history and application of the analog synthesizer, from the Moog modular to the Roland TR-808. The history of computer music, including music synthesis and representation languages. Contemporary practices in circuit bending, live electronics, and electro-acoustic music, as well as issues in copyright and intellectual property, will also be examined.
This collection uses primary sources to explore the early history of Rock and Roll music. Digital Public Library of America Primary Source Sets are designed to help students develop their critical thinking skills and draw diverse material from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States. Each set includes an overview, ten to fifteen primary sources, links to related resources, and a teaching guide. These sets were created and reviewed by the teachers on the DPLA's Education Advisory Committee.
With a greater generational consciousness than previous generations, the baby boomers sought to define and redefine their identities in numerous ways. Music, especially rock and roll, reflected their desire to rebel against adult authority. Other forms of popular culture, such as movies and television, sought to entertain, while reinforcing values such as religious faith, patriotism, and conformity to societal norms.
The rich multimedia materials at TeachRock are always offered free of charge. By creating an account, you help us understand who is using our material, how many students we are reaching, and how we can better serve both parties.
This collection uses primary sources to explore the early history of Rock and Roll music. Digital Public Library of America Primary Source Sets are designed to help students develop their critical thinking skills and draw diverse material from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States. Each set includes an overview, ten to fifteen primary sources, links to related resources, and a teaching guide. These sets were created and reviewed by the teachers on the DPLA's Education Advisory Committ
Draw back the curtain on the world of theatre and learn how the magic of a great stage performance is created. Designed for theatre appreciation students and written in an engaging style, this book is an ideal introduction to all aspects of theatre. Learn about the variety of ways professional actors approach their roles. Meet the people you won't see during a performance but who are essential in bringing a production to life: writers, directors, set designers, tailors, carpenters, electricians, stagehands, light and sound technicians, riggers, ushers, supervisors, and stage managers. From casting to run-throughs to wardrobe, this book includes interviews with those involved in the creation process from beginning to end. Eye-opening details about acting techniques, directing, and production design may inspire you to audition or work behind the scenes yourself. Special topics, including Shakespeare, the American musical, and world theatre, provide examinations into unique genres, and an overview of the fascinating history of theatre provides the necessary background to understand and enjoy live performances. The expert contributors to Theatrical Worlds reveal unexpected connections between the stage and such diverse fields as languages and literature, psychology, music, science, law, journalism, and business. After reading this book you'll gain a deeper awareness of the many layers of artistry behind the wonders of theatre.