This textbook is newly revised (Mai 2013) and includes all 10 chapters of Deutsch im Blick. It accompanies http: //coerll.utexas.edu/dib/, the web-based first-year German program developed and in use at the University of Texas since 2008, and its companion site, Grimm Grammar http: //coerll.utexas.edu/gg/. Deutsch im Blick is an open access site with free and open multimedia resources, which requires neither password nor fees. Deutsch im Blick has been funded and created by Liberal Arts Instructional Technology Services at the University of Texas, and is currently supported by COERLL, the Center for Open Educational Resources and Language Learning UT-Austin, and the U.S. Department of Education Fund for the Improvement of Post-Secondary Education (FIPSE Grant P116B070251 & P116Y090057) as an example of the open access initiative.
"Guides a learner who has no previous German experience to gain the ability to accurately understand formal written German prose, aided only by a comprehensive dictionary. Specific objectives include:
Explain enough grammatical and syntactical information about the German language to enable you to read any desired text with the aid of a dictionary.
Explain elements of word formation to accelerate the process of learning vocabulary.
Lead the reader through practice in small-scale translation as the necessary foundation for dealing with more complex readings."
"This is a free textbook that is offered by Amazon for reading on a Kindle. Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the free Kindle app for smartphones and tablets. Download the app for your device and start reading for free.
'The best way to learn a foreign language is to start reading it! Each book in the 'German Reader' series comprises three original German short stories, with English translations placed next to the German text, so that you can translate the stories as you read. Perhaps more importantly, all the stories are page-turners that are guaranteed to leave you on the edge of your seat - learning a foreign language has never been so enjoyable!'"
This textbook is newly revised (Mai 2013) and includes all 10 chapters of Deutsch im Blick. Deutsch im Blick is the web-based first-year German program developed and in use at the University of Texas. It is an open access site with free and open multimedia resources, which requires neither password nor fees.
MIT's Foreign Languages and Literature department offers an extensive collection of online courses. Course format includes, lecture videos, interactive concept quizzes (solution key), problem sets, terms and definitions, suggested topics and links, and exams (with solution key).
Global Language Online Support System from the Defense Language Institute in Monterey, CA. Lessons are developed for independent learners to provide them with the learning/teaching tools for improving their foreign language skills. Reading and listening lessons are based on authentic materials (articles, TV reports, radio broadcasts, etc.) and consist of 4 to 6 activities. Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Greek, Gulf-Arabic, Hebrew, Japanese, Portuguese, and Spanish.
A collection of target language videos done by international students from the Five Colleges of Massachusetts in their home countries. Includes: Arabic, French, German, Spanish, Japanese, Greek, Italian, and Portuguese.