The authors of Chinese Rhetoric and Writing offer a response to the argument that Chinese students' academic writing in English is influenced by "culturally nuanced rhetorical baggage that is uniquely Chinese and hard to eradicate." Noting that this argument draws from "an essentially monolingual and Anglo-centric view of writing," they point out that the rapid growth in the use of English worldwide calls for "a radical reassessment of what English is in today's world." The result is a book that provides teachers of writing, and in particular those involved in the teaching of English academic writing to Chinese students, an introduction to key stages in the development of Chinese rhetoric, a wide-ranging field with a history of several thousand years. Understanding this important rhetorical tradition provides a strong foundation for assessing and responding to the writing of this growing group of students.
"This is a textbook that prepares students to learn the basics of the Chinese language.
The electronic textbook has both .doxc format and .pdf format available in the Google Doc platform. When you access the .doxc format files, make sure you download the files to your computer and use Microsoft Word software to open the files. As you know, Chinese character fonts in Microsoft Word files are incompatible with Google Doc files. If you open and preview the Word (.doxc) files in Google Drive, without downloading, you might find the Chinese characters in the files show with different fonts, and some charts in the textbook are corrupted. The .doxc format files are convenient for teachers to edit and use to generate teaching materials, such as PowerPoint slides, vocabulary flashcards, quizzes, and tests. The .pdf format files are convenient for learners to print out, and to explore the contents on all kinds of electronic devices, such as Windows, Mac, iPad, Chromebook, and so on."
MIT's Foreign Languages and Literature department offers an extensive collection of online courses. Course format includes, lecture videos, interactive concept quizzes (solution key), problem sets, terms and definitions, suggested topics and links, and exams (with solution key).
Global Language Online Support System from the Defense Language Institute in Monterey, CA. Lessons are developed for independent learners to provide them with the learning/teaching tools for improving their foreign language skills. Reading and listening lessons are based on authentic materials (articles, TV reports, radio broadcasts, etc.) and consist of 4 to 6 activities. Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Greek, Gulf-Arabic, Hebrew, Japanese, Portuguese, and Spanish.
A collection of target language videos done by international students from the Five Colleges of Massachusetts in their home countries. Includes: Arabic, French, German, Spanish, Japanese, Greek, Italian, and Portuguese.
Resources for Spanish, French, Chinese, and Italian. Includes: Videos, thematic curriculum units complete lesson plans, student worksheets and resources, downloadable materials collections with activities, manipulatives and mini-posters over 40 virtual illustrated picturebooks organized thematically, as well as a list of vetted links.