China's disruptors : how Alibaba, Xiaomi, Tencent, and other companies are changing the rules of business by Edward TseIn September 2014, Chinese e-commerce giant Alibaba raised $25 billion in the world's biggest-ever initial public offering. Since then, millions of investors and managers worldwide have pondered a fundamental question: What's really going on with the new wave of China's disruptors? Alibaba wasn't an outlier--it's one of a rising tide of thriving Chinese companies, mostly but not exclusively in the technology sector. Overnight, its founder, Jack Ma, appeared on the same magazine covers as American entrepreneurial icons like Mark Zuckerberg. Ma was quickly followed by the founders of other previously little-known companies, such as Baidu, Tencent, and Xiaomi. Over the past two decades, an unprecedented burst of entrepreneurialism has transformed China's economy from a closed, impoverished, state-run system into a major power in global business. As products in China become more and more sophisticated, and as its companies embrace domestically developed technology, we will increasingly see Chinese goods setting global standards. Meanwhile, companies in the rest of the world wonder how they can access the fast-rising incomes of China's 1.3 billion consumers. Now Edward Tse, a leading global strategy consultant, reveals how China got to this point, and what the country's rise means for the United States and the rest of the world. Tse has spent more than twenty years working with senior Chinese executives, learning firsthand how China's most powerful companies operate. He's an expert on how private firms are thriving in what is still, officially, a communist country. His book draws on exclusive interviews and case studies to explore questions such as *What drives China's entrepreneurs? Personal fame and fortune--or a quest for national pride and communal achievement? *How do these companies grow so quickly? In 2005, Lenovo sold just one category of products (personal computers) in one market, China. Today, not only is it the world's largest PC seller; it is also the world's third-largest smartphone seller. *How does Chinese culture shape the strategies and tactics of these business leaders? Can outsiders copy what the Chinese are doing? *Can capitalists really thrive within a communist system? How does Tencent's Pony Ma serve as a member of China's parliament while running a company that dominates online games and messaging? *What impact will China have on the rest of the world as its private companies enter new markets, acquire foreign businesses, and threaten established firms in countless industries? As Tse concludes: "I believe that as a consequence of the opening driven by China's entrepreneurs, the push to invest in science, research, and development, and the new freedoms that people are enjoying across the country, China has embarked on a renaissance that could rival its greatest era in history--the Tang dynasty. These entrepreneurs are the front line in China's intense hunger for success. They will have an even more remarkable impact on the global economy in the future, through the rest of this decade and beyond."
Call Number: HC427.95 .T74 2015
Publication Date: 2015
China's financial markets : issues and opportunities by Wang, MingThis book provides an overview of China's financial markets and their latest developments. The book explores and discusses the difficulties in building modern financial markets that are compatible with an increasingly complicated market economy and examines the various strategies to reform China's financial system. It covers a range of topics: China's financial structure, financial regulation, financial repression and liberalization, monetary policy and the People's Bank of China, banking reforms, exchange rate policy, capital control and capital-account liberalization, and development of the stock markets. The book provides a basic understanding of the current issues related to the development of China's financial markets. It enhances knowledge of China's regulatory framework which has helped to shape China's financial landscape. It provides specific, useful knowledge about investment in China, such as, market sense, to identify the investment opportunities in various asset classes.
The Chinese way in business : the secrets of successful business dealings in China by Boye Lafayette De MenteThis book is a comprehensive, expert guide to doing business in China Western technology, management expertise and capital have fueled an incredible expansion of China's economy. Trade with China is at an all time high and so are the numbers of Westerners travelling to China for business. Business from China has also picked up as Chinese firms look to expand abroad. Understanding the ins and outs of the confusing and often contradictory Chinese business culture can lend an enormous advantage.The Chinese Way in Business is an invaluable tool that teaches Westerners the basic Chinese philosophy of doing business and how to cultivate strong personal relationships with Chinese business people and Chinese nationals. The author, Boye Lafayette De Mente worked in Asia for over thirty years as a journalist and business consultant and has long been considered an authority on East Asian business. In this book, he reveals the historical factors, collective traits and individual qualities that determine how the Chinese do business today, and the direction their economy will take in the future. His is a true insider's view—whether the topic is the legal framework for business development, or the importance of social relationships to successful business dealings in China. The book is broken into ten key parts: Introduction:The Land and the People—includes a overview of Chinese ethnicity and the languages of China Part One:Return of the Central Kingdom—an extensive overview of recent events and new technologies in China Part Two:The Historical Perspective—Chinese philosophy and the Chinese mindset from antiquity to modern times Part Three:Doing Business in China—A detailed analysis of the nuts and bolts of Chinese Business Part Four:Key Concepts in Chinese Business—Concepts native to China such asGuanxi (relationships) that drive Chinese business practice Part Five:Additional Business Vocabulary Part Six:Glossary of Useful Terms—designed for quick referencing Part Seven:Internet Gateways to China—An overview of the dynamic online world in China Part Eight:Miscellaneous Information—contains information about English Language Publications and Weather Patterns Part Nine:Learning Some New Skills—Classical Chinese techniques which might benefit Western business people
Call Number: HD2910 .D4 2014
Publication Date: 2013
Corporate Governance and Banking in China by Michael TanAs China began its economic reforms in the late 1970s and made a transition from planned to a market economy, corporate governance of the banking sector became an increasingly pressing issue. Further, in the aftermath of the Asian Financial Crises in the late 1990s, Chinese authorities became acutely aware of the importance of corporate governance to ensure that their banking system would not suffer similar fates to those of other Asian countries. This book examines corporate governance in city commercial banks, which are the main source of loans to the dynamic small and medium enterprises that are crucial to the development of China's economy. By the end of 2008, there were 136 city commercial banks in China, 13 of which had foreign partners, and this book clearly demonstrates the positive effect of these foreign partnerships on corporate governance practices, in addition to financial performance. With evidence from extensive interviews with 10 city commercial banks in China, Michael Tan explores the different models of corporate governance, and in turn, asks which model is most suitable to China, how are Chinese authorities overcoming problems with corporate governance, and how do these problems compare with those in other transition economies? Whilst the primary focus of this study is on China's city commercial banks, there are lessons that apply much more broadly to the industry and it therefore will be invaluable to foreign banking institutions wishing to invest in China. This book will also be of great appeal to students and scholars of Chinese business and economics, corporate governance and banking.
Call Number: HG3334 .T46 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Corporate Governance and Legal Reform in China by Chao XiState-owned enterprise (SOE) reform has been at the heart of China's post-Mao economic reforms. Since early 1990s, a large number of Chinese SOEs have been transformed into joint stock companies, and many of them are now listed on China's domestic stock exchanges. The corporatisation and listing of the SOEs did not, however, bring about significant improvement in their performance or in the manner in which they are governed.This book examines the effectiveness of the key legal reforms that have been put in place for addressing the governance issues facing Chinese listed companies. The focus is on three important - but understudied - aspects of corporate governance reform in China: regulation of the private sales of corporate control, institutional shareholder activism, and board level monitoring and control. In addition, this book attempts to explore a political economy understanding of formal legal changes in China with particular reference to China's corporate board reform.
Call Number: KNQ1056 .X5 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Developments in Chinese Entrepreneurship by Douglas Cumming (Editor); Michael Firth (Editor); Wenxuan Hou (Editor); Edward Lee (Editor)Developments in Chinese Entrepreneurship offers empirical evidence from cutting-edge research into the experiences and challenges of entrepreneurial activities and small business issues within China. As a leading emerging country, the entrepreneurial landscape in China provides useful insight for other developing economies in the areas of: • Entrepreneurial finance • The role of venture capital and angel finance in new venture development • The influence of family dynamics on small business management • The impact of prevailing local institutional norms and barriers on small business management • Innovation, R&D, and entrepreneurial strategies • The impact of government policy on small business management • Survival and growth strategies for small businesses
Sustainable Entrepreneurship in China by Douglas Cumming (Editor); Michael Firth (Editor); Wenxuan Hou (Editor); Edward Lee (Editor)There is an intense love–hate relationship between entrepreneurship and business ethics, and transitional economies provide fertile ground to examine these issues, especially within emerging markets. While institutional reform and governance assist entrepreneurship, the competition among Chinese entrepreneurs also serves as catalysts for further reform and governance improvement. Therefore, there is an interrelationship between business ethics, entrepreneurship, corporate governance,and institutional reform associated with China's past, current, and future economic development. Sustainable Entrepreneurship in China provides empirical evidence and cutting-edge research into topical business ethics issues relating to entrepreneurship, corporate governance, and institutional reforms in China. As a leading emerging economy, analysis of Chinese data provides useful policy implications for China, as well as other developing economies, on the ethical aspects of talent acquisition, venture capital investment, and corporate governance.