This is the "Home" page of the "Spanish and Portuguese Language, Literature and Culture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Spanish and Portuguese Language, Literature and Culture   Tags: foreign language, portuguese, spanish, spanish literature, spanish news  

UTSA Libraries print, electronic and internet resources for Spanish and Portuguese language, literature and culture.
Last Updated: Sep 28, 2015 URL: Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page

Library QuickSearch

Library Quick Search

The UTSA Libraries' meta-search, which searches across multiple UTSA databases for journal and newspaper articles and books. A great starting point but does not search all library content.  Can filter for Scholarly Journals and Spanish.

Find Articles in Google Scholar

Look for Find It @ UTSA link to connect to full text in UTSA subscriptions.

If off campus, CLICK here


Best Bets for full text articles in Spanish

Periodicals Archive Online (UTSA subscription)
Provides citations to nearly 14 million articles in the humanities and social sciences. Full-text articles are available from approximately 740 historically significant periodicals in disciplines such as anthropology, area studies, economics, education, history, linguistics and philology, literature, music and the performing arts, and sociology, among others. Can limit to Spanish. Full Image

REDalyc (Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y el Caribe, España y Portugal)
Open Access:  
Portal of open access journals providing access to a wide variety of academic journal articles and theses on scholarly topics. Developed and maintained by the Universidad Autónoma del Estado de México. Articles may be in Spanish, Portuguese or English. 



Best Bets for Spanish Language News

Ethnic NewsWatch  (via ProQuest) (UTSA Subscription) 
Provides full-text articles from more than 240 newspapers, magazines, and journals published in the United States by the ethnic, minority, and native press. Includes noted San Antonio bilingual newspaper, La Prensa de San Antonio. Some articles are in Spanish. Coverage is from 1960 to the present. Updated regularly. Full Text

Informe! Académico (Revistas in Español) (Infotrac) (UTSA subscription)
Full-text collection of more than 130 Spanish-language popular, professional, and scholarly journals, including Américas (Spanish Edition), Anales de la literatura española contemporánea, Boletín de antropología americana, Frontera Norte, Lectura y vida, Proceso, and Revista de historia de América, as well as many popular magazines. Full Text

LexisNexis Academic  (UTSA Subscription) 
Extensive news sources including U.S. and foreign newspapers.  Search by Content Type  > Foreign Language News and limit to Spanish or Portugese in Advanced Options.  Search using Spanish terms. Updated continuously. Full Text

Google News
For other countries, go to Other News Editions and choose specific countries including Mexico, Spain, Argentina, Chile, Cuba, Peru and Venezuela. Choose "Estados Unidos" for Spanish-language news from the United States.

Latin American and Mexican Newspapers with online editions
UTSA Research Guide: 
Comprehensive collection of links to online newspapers and journals from Mexico, Central America, Caribbean, and South America.

Spanish Bibliographer

Profile Image
Rita Wilson
Contact Info
UTSA Libraries -- Main Campus
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, Texas 78249
Send Email
Master in Library Studies, Univ. Michigan; MA Economics, Eastern Michigan Univ.; BA Anthropology, Univ. of Michigan

Learn a Language with Transparent Language Online

Interactive online training in more than 70 languages.  Vocabulary, pronunciation practice, games and activities, blogs, social communities. First time users will need to set up a free username and password in the database.


Loading  Loading...