Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Research Guides - Rita Wilson

Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Rita Wilson
Contact Info:
UTSA Libraries -- Main Campus
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, Texas 78249
210-458-7572
Education:
Master's in Library Studies, Univ. Michigan; MA Economics, Eastern Michigan Univ.; BA Anthropology, Univ. of Michigan

Guides

American Indians in Texas
by Juli McLoone, Shari Salisbury, Rita Wilson - Last Updated Aug 6, 2014
Guide to resources on American Indians in Texas.
Tags: indians, native americans, texas
Anthropology
by Rita Wilson - Last Updated Oct 16, 2014
Guide to Anthropology databases, books, and free internet resources. Also includes archaeology, ethnography, and primatology.
Biographies
by Rita Wilson - Last Updated Aug 7, 2014
Print and online sources for biographies of famous and not-so-famous individuals.
Children's and Juvenile Literature
by Rita Wilson - Last Updated Aug 6, 2014
UTSA Libraries print, electronic and internet resources in children's literature
Congressional mini-workshop for staff
by Rita Wilson - Last Updated Aug 6, 2014
A mini-presentation on U.S. Congressional materials for UTSA Libraries staff.
Constitution Day 2014
by Rita Wilson - Last Updated Sep 17, 2014
Country Profiles and Data
by Rita Wilson - Last Updated Sep 30, 2014
Links to sources of basic country information, profiles & statistical information for both foreign countries & U.S.
Education Law (HSA 6003)
by DeeAnn Green, Rita Wilson - Last Updated Aug 7, 2014
ESL6013
by Rita Wilson - Last Updated Aug 7, 2014
Second Language Acquisition Research / Peter Sayer
Executive Agencies and Office of the President
by Rita Wilson - Last Updated Sep 22, 2014
Info on Office of the President and Executive Agencies, including Treaties and Executive Orders.
Geographic Information Systems (GIS)
by Rita Wilson - Last Updated Mar 27, 2014
A guide to GIS resources at UTSA Libraries
Geography
by Rita Wilson - Last Updated Aug 7, 2014
This guide provides an overview of general Geography resources available at UTSA.
History of Mexico
by Juli McLoone, Shari Salisbury, Rita Wilson - Last Updated Oct 16, 2014
Use this guide to find primary and secondary sources for the study of Mexican history.
Human Rights
by Shari Salisbury, Rita Wilson - Last Updated Aug 22, 2014
A guide to library and online sources for research on human rights.
Tags: civil rights, ethnic cleansing, human rights, united nations, women's rights
Indian and South Asian Films
by Rita Wilson - Last Updated Sep 15, 2014
Movies of India and other South Asian countries: DVD, Video, books at the UTSA Libraries
Tags: indian_movies
Latin American and Mexican Online News
by Rita Wilson - Last Updated Sep 5, 2014
Links to online news sources for Mexico, Central and South America and the Caribbean.
Latin American Studies
by Shari Salisbury, Rita Wilson - Last Updated Aug 7, 2014
A guide to library and online sources for research on Latin America.
Tags: latin america, latin american history, latin american studies
Latino / Latina Studies
by Shari Salisbury, Rita Wilson - Last Updated Oct 20, 2014
Latinos broadly defined are U.S. Hispanics with origins in Latin America or Spain.
Legal Resources & Research
by Rita Wilson - Last Updated Sep 24, 2014
Guide to Legal Resources at the UTSA Libraries
Library Lingo
by Rita Wilson - Last Updated Aug 7, 2014
Do you sometimes feel that the library staff is using a different language than you are? Find definitions of some common terms used in the library.
Library of Congress Classification
by Rita Wilson - Last Updated Aug 7, 2014
Library of Congress subjects arranged by letter.
Maps & Map Center
by Rita Wilson - Last Updated Aug 7, 2014
This guide provides information about Maps and the Map Center at UTSA.
Microforms Research at UTSA Libraries
by Rita Wilson - Last Updated Aug 7, 2014
Major research and primary documents collections on microfilm and microfiche at the UTSA Libraries.
Newspapers and News Articles
by Rita Wilson - Last Updated Aug 27, 2014
Current & historical print, microfilm, and online news sources available at UTSA.
Patents & Trademarks
by Natasha Arguello, Rita Wilson - Last Updated Sep 3, 2014
Guide to resources on U.S. and international patents and trademarks.
Political Polling Sources
by Rita Wilson - Last Updated Aug 27, 2014
Although some public opinion polls are included in this guide if they're pertinent to elections, the predominant emphasis is on U.S. state and federal electoral polls.
Political Science
by Rita Wilson - Last Updated Oct 14, 2014
San Antonio Government
by Rita Wilson - Last Updated Oct 6, 2014
Spanish and Portuguese Language, Literature and Culture
by Rita Wilson - Last Updated Sep 3, 2014
UTSA Libraries print, electronic and internet resources for Spanish and Portuguese language, literature and culture.
Special Education Law (SPE 3693)
by Rita Wilson - Last Updated Aug 7, 2014
Tax Forms
by Rita Wilson - Last Updated Aug 7, 2014
Sources for Federal and State Tax Forms and information.
Texas Budget 2013
by DeeAnn Green, Rita Wilson - Last Updated Feb 28, 2013
Texas Counties and Other U.S. Counties
by Rita Wilson - Last Updated Aug 7, 2014
Resources to find statistical, historical, background and other information on Texas Counties and on U.S. counties in general.
Texas State Government
by Rita Wilson - Last Updated Aug 20, 2014
Information on the State of Texas publications and government documents in print, electronic, free web, microfiche and other formats.
U.S. Congressional Publications
by Rita Wilson - Last Updated Oct 2, 2014
Guide to U.S. Congressional materials available at the UTSA Libraries in print, microform, UTSA subscription databases and official government websites.
U.S. Government Information
by Rita Wilson - Last Updated Aug 7, 2014
Information on finding U.S. government information including publications, websites, statistics, databases, census info, treaties, and more.
 

Biography

Current Position: Government Documents Coordinator
Subject Specialist: Anthropology, Spanish, Mexican American Studies, BBL, Ethnic Studies, Political Science & Geography

In previous lives I was:

  • Instruction Coordinator at UTSA Libraries for 7 years
  • Collection Development Librarian, University of Michigan Graduate Library, Ann Arbor
  • ESL teacher for two years in Quito, Ecuador
  • Economist for the National Solar Heating and Cooling Information Center in Philadelphia
  • Publishers' Liaison, Institute for Scientific Information, Philadelphia
  • Insurance adjuster in Decatur, Illinois
  • Caseworker for a U.S. Congressman in Flint, Michigan
  • Car Hop

Education
MLS
, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
MA, Economics, Eastern Michigan University, Ypsilanti
BA, Anthropology, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Certificate in Spanish, Universidad Católica del Ecuador, Quito
   
Professional Affiliations:

  • American Library Association (ALA)
  • Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL)
  • Government Documents Round Table (GODORT)
  • San Antonio Documents Users Group.

Interests:

  • Watching Indian films (All genres)
  • Music and cinema of Mexico (see my web pages on 1940's and 50's actor/singers Pedro Infante and Jorge Negrete.).
  • Favorite authors: Mario Vargas Llosa (Peru), Eduardo Caballero Calderón (Colombia), Gabriel García Márquez (Colombia), José Donoso (Chile), and Julio Ramón Ribeyro (Peru).

 

Current Reading / Viewing

Book: Impeached: The Trial of President Andrew Johnson and the Fight for Lincoln's Legacy -
David O. Stewart

     

 DVD:  Antardwand (2010 India)

     
     
    Description

      Loading...