The purpose of this textbook is to provide instruction in FA skills for pre-professionals in the fields of education and psychology. This supplemental resource provides the context, background, and knowledge to facilitate students’ acquisition of the methods, decision-making, and skills involved in conducting FA. Each chapter begins with focus questions designed to promote reflective thinking and ends with discussion questions. To promote application of FA in diverse situations and teach important lessons, case studies of individuals with challenging behaviors, interactive activities, and opportunities for practice are embedded in the chapters. Moreover, the text includes the ingredients to facilitate students’ role play and rehearsal of appropriate FA skills while working in cooperative groups and using performance-based training.
This online textbook addresses the population of individuals with disabilities that experience complex lifelong needs across multiple areas in their lives. Drs. Sennott and Loman drafted this book (along with the help from some friends) with the hope of providing pertinent, practical, and current resources to future special educators who plan to serve individuals with complex disabilities.
This national clearinghouse was designed and developed by the Special Education Department at the University of South Florida, as part of a federal OSEP Special Projects grant. The clearinghouse contains 54 problem-based teaching cases on a variety of topics that are matched to CEC's standards of practice. The cases are true stories told by practicing teachers representing different regions of the US and numerous educational settings. Instructors may search for cases by title, topic, or CEC Accomplished Practices.
The Federal Resource Center for Special Education is a 5-year contract between the Academy for Educational Development, the National Association of State Directors of Special Education, and the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Special Education Programs. Their site is a repository of federally related information regarding individuals with disabilities.
Cross-searches multidisciplinary suite of Alexander Street Press streaming video, audio and text collections including: Music Online, Classical Scores Library, Filmakers Library, Ethnographic Video Online, Anthropology Online, Social Work Video, Counseling and Therapy in Video, Engineering Case Studies Online, Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, and VAST: Academic Video Online. Use Advanced Search to search specific collections. Does not include Latino Literature, American Film Scripts, North American Immigrant Letters, North American Women's Letters and Diaries, or Women and Social Movements in the United States.
Digitally streams over 1,000 educational videos in the Humanities & Social Sciences and Business & Economics collections, including anthropology, art & architecture, business & economics, communication, criminal justice, English, geography, history, music, philosophy & religion, political science, psychology, sociology and world languages.
Digitally streams thousands of popular films and documentaries, as well as educational videos in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Sciences, Business, and K-12 Education. Includes producers such as the BBC, Criterion Collection, First Run Features, and PBS.
Site for iPads that offers many things. This site has many Tutorials, list of apps and related material, Apps especially for Special education, classroom uses of the iPad, etc. Great website for finding most anything you may need to help you with the iPad