U.S. History covers the breadth of the chronological history of the United States and also provides the necessary depth to ensure the course is manageable for instructors and students alike. The text provides a balanced approach to U.S. history, considering the people, events, and ideas that have shaped the United States from both the top down (politics, economics, diplomacy) and bottom up (eyewitness accounts, lived experience).
An open American history textbook that is a collaborative effort. Contributors are college-level instructors. American Yawp has a CC-BY-SA license: it can be used, downloaded, distributed, and modified freely.
Includes a getting started guide, sample syllabus language, instructor solution guide, supplemental test items, Powerpoint slides, iBooks comp copy assessment bank, and more. Must register for a faculty login to access.
Access thousands of hours of streaming video for the study of American history. Sources include commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. Historical eras: late 1400s - 2000.
Digitally streams over 1,000 educational videos in the Humanities & Social Sciences and Business & Economics collections, including anthropology, art & architecture, business & economics, communication, criminal justice, English, geography, history, music, philosophy & religion, political science, psychology, sociology and world languages.
Cross-searches multidisciplinary suite of Alexander Street Press streaming video, audio and text collections including: Music Online, Classical Scores Library, Filmakers Library, Ethnographic Video Online, Anthropology Online, Social Work Video, Counseling and Therapy in Video, Engineering Case Studies Online, Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, and VAST: Academic Video Online. Use Advanced Search to search specific collections. Does not include Latino Literature, American Film Scripts, North American Immigrant Letters, North American Women's Letters and Diaries, or Women and Social Movements in the United States.
Digitally streams thousands of popular films and documentaries, as well as educational videos in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Sciences, Business, and K-12 Education. Includes producers such as the BBC, Criterion Collection, First Run Features, and PBS.