A database designed to help you start your research on almost any subject. Contains recommendations for scholarship at all levels, whether encyclopedias and textbooks or journal articles and primary sources. Bibliographic essays and annotated citations on each topic. Peer-reviewed, selective, rather than exhaustive content chosen by experts in their disciplines.
Selectively indexes and abstracts articles on U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Includes citations from more than 2,000 journals published worldwide. Also includes citations of book and media reviews from over 100 key journals in the field.
Selectively indexes and abstracts articles relating to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Includes citations from more than 2,000 journals published worldwide, as well as citations to useful historical books as reviewed by journals in the field.
Indexes and abstracts over 3,800 journals, as well as numerous books, conference reports, government documents, and statistical information in a variety of subjects, including agriculture, business, education, finance, health, political science, and the social sciences. Corresponds to the last ten years of citations from the print indexes PAIS Bulletin, PAIS Foreign Language Index, and PAIS International In Print.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
Provides citations to scholarly works on Latin America appearing in books, book chapters, journal articles, and conference proceedings published worldwide in any language, but primarily in English, Spanish, or Portuguese. Compiled by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, entries are selected and annotated by scholars in the Social Sciences and Humanities, including anthropology, archaeology, art, economics, government and politics, geography, international relations, history, literature, philosophy and sociology.
Provides access to the full-text/full-image of seven major U.S. and two major British newspapers covering national and international events and issues in the United States and Great Britain: New York Times (1851-2014), Washington Post (1877-2001), Wall Street Journal (1889-2000), Christian Science Monitor (1908-2004), Los Angeles Times (1881-1993), Chicago Tribune (1847-2004), Austin American Statesman (1871-1978), the Guardian (1821-2003) and the Observer (1791-2003). Coverage begins with the first issue of each title.
Comprehensive full image coverage of U.S. Congressional publications 1789-present, including hearings, prints, reports, Serial Set maps, bills and laws, Congressional Record, Congressional Research Service Reports, and information on Congressional members and committees. Updated daily.
Provides full image access to a comprehensive archive of over 2,000 scholarly journals, over 200 of which have complete backfiles. Nearly 40 subject areas are represented in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. New subjects and titles are added regularly. Links to the most recent issues of some journals are available through Project MUSE.
Provides the searchable full text and full images of e-book collections from university presses and approximately 380 journals published by scholarly presses, including Johns Hopkins University Press. Subject areas include math, science, humanities, and social sciences. Provides links to back issues of 29 journals archived in the JSTOR collection.
Provides citations to nearly 14 million articles in the humanities and social sciences. Full-text articles are available from approximately 740 historically significant periodicals in disciplines such as anthropology, area studies, economics, education, history, linguistics and philology, literature, music and the performing arts, and sociology, among others. Includes full-text articles in languages other than English, with significant offerings in Spanish, French, and German.
Contains major full-text reference resources on African American and African history and culture, including "Encyclopedia of African American History"; and the "African American National Biography", as well as articles from other major reference sources. Only a few people can use this database at one time.
Excellent annotated entries of significant titles in books, book chapters, journal articles, and conference papers published worldwide in Social Sciences and Humanities. Compiled by the Hispanic Division of Library of Congress which provides the free, searchable Web Version: HLAS Online. Note: Limiting by year retrieves citations published in that year's HLAS volume, not the year the material itself was published.
Also in print.: JPL 3rd Floor F1401 .H36
A large collection of Latin American pamphlets published during the 19th and the early 20th centuries. Chile, Cuba, Bolivia, and Mexico are the countries most heavily represented. They document the emergence of Latin American colonies as independent states, and illuminate many aspects of their populations' social and cultural life. Many pamphlets are devoted to boundary disputes, territorial expansion, the description of unexplored territories and the relationship between Church and State.
Indexes and abstracts more than 9,300 journals with full-text content for more than 5,300. Also indexes/abstracts over 10,000 monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Highly multidisciplinary, this resource covers social sciences, humanities, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Offers indexing/abstracting to articles in over 3,300 journals across a wide range of subject areas, more than 1,700 of which are also available in full text. Subject strengths include the arts and humanities, business, education, health, international studies, law, literature, multicultural studies, psychology, the sciences, and the social sciences.
Provides access to over 200 pdf e-books from CQ Press. The Advanced Search option enables users to search by keyword across all online titles. Includes titles dealing with the presidency, Congress, elections, public policy, the judiciary, and more.
Provides full-text access to 37 journals published by Sage on topics in sociology, including contemporary and comparative sociology, consumer culture, childhood, classical sociology, ethnic studies, gender studies, leisure studies, social theory, sociology of sport, and labor studies.
Indexes and abstracts nearly 2,000 journals in all subdisciplines of sociology, over 300 of which have full text. Also includes 550 full-text books and monographs and 6,700 conference papers. Topics include anthropology, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, social work, and urban studies, among others. Coverage for some "core" titles begins in 1895, but most coverage begins in the mid-1990s.
Selectively indexes materials, including more than 125 journals, on Mexican-American topics and about Chicanos from 1967 to the present. Incorporates the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, an indexing and abstracting resource covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature. From 1992 on includes the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.
Indexes and abstracts over 30,000 scholarly publications from 200 academic and professional publishers. Some links to full text are provided; however, most full-text articles are fee-based and paid for by the patron. Patrons are encouraged to contact the UTSA Library Reference staff for local holdings or to use Get It For Me to borrow materials from other libraries.
Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. federal and state agencies, major international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, and universities. Includes indexing/abstracting and tabular data from 1973 to present. Significant full-text content from 1995 to the present. Additional full-text content is available on microfiche; inquire at the Information Desk for assistance.
Provides citations and full-image access to doctoral dissertations and master's theses from more than 1,000 graduate schools and universities. Abstracts are provided for dissertations beginning in 1980 and for master's theses beginning in 1988. Full-image PDFs are available for most titles published since 1997 and a limited number of titles previous to 1997. Coverage is from 1861 to the present. Print equivalent is Dissertation Abstracts.