- U.S. Department of State
Facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
- HG.org: Law and Government Worldwide
Links to GlobalLex, Library of Congress, CIA World Fact Book, and World Bank's Doing Business.
- CIA World Fact Book
266 world entities.
- Library of Congress: Country Studies
Coverage includes social, economic, political and environmental issues in countries of the South. Hosted by U.K. Institute of Development Studies.
- BBC Country Profiles
Countries, territories, international organizations: guides to history, politics and economics, key institutions, leaders and issues. Video and audio archives.
- U.S. Census Bureau: International Data Base
Country rankings from 1950 to 2050 (projections). World population: growth, mortality, fertility, migration.
Based on multiple sources, this site offers country statistics, commodities data, trade statistics, graph and mapping visualizing tools for quick comparisons.
- Country profiles from U of Colorado
A collection of sources, including country profiles by international organizations.
- Market Line
Country Profiles: Political, economic, social, technological, legal and environmental (PESTLE) structure is explored on four parameters: current strengths/challenges, future prospects /risks. 60 premium profiles with PESTLE analysis. Base Driver Database:5 million data points across 215 global countries and 46 political and geographic groupings. Key macroeconomic data, including GDP, stock exchange performance, international trade, & more. Forecasts.
- Economist Intelligence Unit
Provides access to select EIU publications, including Country Finance, a guide to financial conditions, techniques, and regulations in 45 countries, and Country Commerce, a guide to operating conditions, commercial laws, and business regulations in 55 countries. Also included are Country Reports for Mexico, Singapore, and Taiwan, as well as Country Risk Analysis, Country Forecast, and Country Profile services for Mexico only.
- Europa World Plus
Provides access to the online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Regional Surveys of the World series. Includes economic, political, and geographic background information, as well as statistical data and analysis by country for over 250 countries and territories. Directory information is provided for governmental, society, media, business enterprise, and international organizations.
From the U.S. Department of Commerce:
State of the Nation database: over 50,000 current and historical U.S. statistical releases, state and regional analysis reports, forecasts, and financial data.
GLOBUS & NTDB: over 200,000 current and historical trade-related releases, international market research, country analysis, and trade and procurement leads.
- Passport GMID
Provides access to market research data, country reports, company profiles, and statistics on countries, consumers, and industries for over 350 markets and 205 countries. Global company profiles of 500 leading multinationals, both public and private, as well as analyses of global and local consumer markets. Contains millions of demographic, economic, and marketing statistics for countries worldwide, as well as several years of historic market size data for many consumer products.
Access the U.S. Commercial Service Market Research Library containing more than 100,000 industry and country-specific market reports, authored by specialists working in overseas posts. Included:Country Commercial Guides, Industry Overviews, Market Updates, Multilateral Development Bank Reports, Best Markets, Industry and Regional Reports.
- Doing Business
World Bank's Doing Business covers 10 indicators in 183 economies measuring regulatory environment for small business:regulations for starting a business, dealing with construction permits, employing workers, registering property, getting credit, protecting investors, paying taxes, trading across borders, enforcing contracts and closing a business. Also includes rankings for these indicators.
- Global EDGE
Created by the International Business Center at Michigan State University. A knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities. Create an account to access additional content. Includes video collections.
- Ernst & Young Library
Newsletters, reports, white papers, etc. by country.
- World Economic Forum: Competitiveness Reports
Global and selected country competitiveness reports providing a context for doing business.
- ICAEW (Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales)
A collection of Doing Business In... resources for a range of countries.
- Multinational Companies Course Modules
By GlobalEdge. Online modules on organizational structure, sourcing, marketing, logistics in multinational corporations.