About the film studies research guide
This research guide to film studies is divided into several sections. Use the blue tabs to read a different section.
This section has links to library books and e-books with introductory information on different aspects of film studies.
The next section, Find Information, Definitions, People, and Overviews, provides descriptions and links to various reference books and web sites where you can find quickly look up basic information on films as well as people, organizations, and other things related to film.
The Find Books section provides guidance on locating books at the UTSA library and elsewhere.
The Find Articles section provides links to many tools for finding articles, including the library's research databases, online journals, and a list of some of the library's print journals on film.
The Film Reviews section provides information on locating film reviews online and offline.
The Film News and Discussion section provides links to web sites with news, blogs, or forums related to film studies.
Library Services
When are we open? Check out our hours.
Can't make it to the library? We deliver.
Need a book, article, or DVD we don't have? Perhaps we can borrow it from another library or maybe we can buy it.
How are we doing? Let us know.
What else can we do for you? More services.
Have a question? Ask a librarian.
Welcome!
Welcome to the UTSA Library's research guide to film studies. Click on the tabs above to see the different sections.
If you have questions please contact me. If I'm available, you can use the chat window to the right in the Subject Guide box. If I'm not available, you can leave me a message or send me e-mail. You can also contact the Information Desk by phone, e-mail, or chat.
What works? What doesn't? What's new? Let me know! Send me e-mail or use the comments.
Cheers,
Jeff L.
Getting Started in Film Studies
Here are some basic books on film studies. You can read the e-books right now. If you're off campus, you'll be asked to log in to view them. The others are library books. Click the link to get their location, call number, and current availability. In the library, ask for at the Information Desk if you need help finding them.
Film Studies: The Basics - Amy Villarejo
E-book - click the title to view.
A textbook introduction to film studies.
Becoming Film Literate: The Art and Craft of Motion Pictures - Vincent LoBrutto
Library book - click the title for availability
This book provides an introduction to film appreciation and concepts in film studies through a discussion of fifty famous films.
Movie Greats: A Critical Study of Classic Cinema - Philip Gillet
Library book - click the title for availability
This survey of several classic films describes exactly what makes them classics.
Film Studies: Critical Approaches - John Hill and Pamela Church Gibson
Library book - click the title for availability
This introduction to film studies focuses on different critical approaches, theories, and traditions.
Film Theory and Criticism - Leo Braudy and Marshall Cohen
Library book - click the title for availability
The latest edition of a noteworthy historical survey of film theory and criticism.
Cinema Studies: The Key Concepts - Susan Hayward
E-book - click the title to view
A short encyclopedia of terms used in film studies.
Subject Guide |
![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
John Peace Library
University of Texas at San Antonio
1 UTSA Circle
San Antonio, TX 78249
Send Email
Subjects:
basic reference, online searching, humanities, philosophy, religion




Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait