EndNote for Mac

This guide details the steps for using EndNote on a Mac. It covers Cite While You Write in Pages and Word for Mac.

Need Help With EndNote?

Ask us for help

DeeAnn Ivieis

DeeAnn Ivie

Schedule an appointment

Contact:

JPL 4.04.14.07
JPL 4th Floor
Librarians Suite
210-458-6666
 

Matt Hayward

Send an email

Schedule an appointment

Contact:

JPL 4.04.14.05
JPL 4th Floor
Librarians Suite
(210) 458-6654

What is EndNote?

Endnote streamlines the research process. UTSA has a license for Endnote. With Endnote, your storage is unlimited.

  • Save citations with a few clicks.
  • Format citations by style. Choose from more than 6,000 styles, including MLA, APA, Chicago, etc.
  • Cite while you write. Attribute and create reference lists.

Download EndNote for Mac

EndNote is provided for free to UTSA students, faculty, and staff. To download it, go to ASAP and login with your abc123. Once you have logged in, go to the Software Downloads tab and look for the EndNote section for the download links.

What is Bibliographic Management?

All bibliographic managers store bibliographic information in a database. Bibliographic information is the stuff you find in any record from our catalog and can include author, title, publication year—pretty much anything that will help identify a work. They can be web-based or local. The intent is to facilitate your research by allowing you to keep records of the information you have gathered. In fact, most systems allow the user to store PDFs and images within the record.

The most important thing in selecting the right bibliographic management tool is to compare their features and functionality and determine the best fit. Carefully consider the types of resources you use because some bibliographic managers only handle journal articles while others only manage books. Some handle any type of reference from poster presentations to monographic serials. If you collaborate, you might consider a resource that will allow you to share your library with colleagues. If you hate formatting in-text citations, you might consider a resource with cite while you write functionality.

Software Support

EndNote supplies free technical support on their website.  You can also search their tutorials or call them on the phone at 1-800-336-4474.