Export a Reference from a DatabaseReferences From the Catalog and Library Quick Search
This is the "Home" page of the "EndNote for PC Users" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EndNote for PC Users  

This guide provides step-by-step instructions for using features of the EndNote program on your PC.
Last Updated: Oct 22, 2014 URL: http://libguides.utsa.edu/endnote Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

How to download Endnote

Go to ASAP, click on the "Software Downloads" tab.  Choose EndNote.

IMPORTANT! You must also download the licensing agreement located below the software download button.

Software Support

EndNote supplies free technical support on their website.  You can also search their tutorials or call them on the phone at 800-336-4474.

 

In-Person Training

The UTSA Libraries offer crash courses on EndNote software.  Here are the times offered.

If these times won't work with your schedule, you may request a time.

Also, if you would like direct assistance, please contact Tyler Dunn or DeeAnn Green  featured in the Profile Boxes on the right-hand side of this page.

 

A Note About Macs

While the instructions in this guide are based on the Windows 2007 operating system and how it interfaces with the EndNote program, Mac users also have access to all the features that EndNote has to offer.

Things will go more smoothly on a Mac if you use Firefox as your browser

In order to use the "Cite While You Write" function, you will need to have Word for Mac or Pages '09 installed on your computer.

 

What is a Bibliographic Manager?

All bibliographic managers store bibliographic information in a database.  (The bibliographic information is the stuff you find in any record from our catalog and can include author, title, publication year--pretty much anything that will help identify a work.)  They can be web-based or local. The intent is to facilitate your research by allowing you to keep records of the information you have gathered.  In fact, most systems allow the user to store PDFs and images within the record.

The most important thing in selecting the right bibliographic management tool is to compare their features and functionality and determine the best fit.  Carefully consider the types of resources you use because some bibliographic managers only handle journal articles while others only manage books.  Some handle any type of reference from poster presentations to monographic serials.  If you collaborate, you might consider a resource that will allow you to share your library with colleagues.  If you hate formatting in-text citations, you might consider a resource with cite while you write functionality.

Other options

These are other software options that have their plusses and minuses.

  • BibDesk
    BibDesk will keep track of both the bibliographic information and the associated files or web links for you. BibDesk’s services will simplify using your bibliography in other applications and are particularly well suited for LATEX users.
  • Cite U Like
    citeulike is a free service for managing and discovering scholarly references. CiteULike has a flexible filing system based on tags. You can choose whichever tags you want, and apply as many as you like to a paper. You can use tags to group papers together.
  • Library Thing
    Enter what you’re reading or your whole library. It’s an easy, library-quality catalog. LibraryThing connects you to people who read what you do. Catalog your books from Amazon, the Library of Congress and 690 other world libraries. Import from anywhere.
  • Mendeley
    Mendeley is a free, web/client-based Citation Manager. It is user friendly, syncs files to multiple computers, and can import citations from PDFs. If you already have a lot of PDFs and need to import them quickly, this is a good one to use.
  • Papers for Macintosh
    Bundles all the great technologies that come with Mac OS X to give you a completely new workflow for reading scientific articles. You seek, download, archive, and organize all your articles within a single application.
  • Zotero
    Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, cite, and share your research sources. It lives right where you do your work—in the web browser itself.
 

Leave Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Subject Specialist

Profile Image
DeeAnn Green
Contact Info
John Peace Library
Main Campus
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, TX 78249
210-458-6666
Send Email
Education:
Master's of Library and Information Science

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Tyler Dunn
Contact Info
John Peace Library
Main Campus
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, TX 78249
210-458-8612
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip