This is the "Start: Web Portals & Catalogs" page of the "Texas State Government" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Texas State Government  

Information on the State of Texas publications and government documents in print, electronic, free web, microfiche and other formats.
Last Updated: Jul 30, 2014 URL: http://libguides.utsa.edu/texas Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Start: Web Portals & Catalogs Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Texas Publications Depository

Texas State publications are catalogued in the UTSA Library online catalog, UCAT, and may be located in a variety of locations including JPL Stacks, Downtown Stacks, Microfilm and Microfiche, and online. 

Official Texas state publications are supplemented with subscription resources from commercial vendors such as LexisNexis and ProQuest.

Questions?:
Contact Government Documents Coordinator,
Rita Wilson
rita.wilson@utsa.edu

 

Texas Quick Facts

Texas QuickLinks
From the U.S. Census Bureau, quick access to Texas Population, Housing, Demographic, Economic, and Business data  from the Census, American Community Survey, and business and economic surveys.
Free government website: http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/states/48000lk.html 

Texas Quick Facts
United States Census Bureau
Free government website: http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/states/48000.html

Texas Fact Book
Legislative Reference Board
Location (print): JPL & Downtown Library Reference HJ 11 .T474
Free government website: http://www.lbb.state.tx.us/
2012    2010  2008    2006  2004  (.pdf)

Handbook of Texas Online
Free Website: http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook
Location: (New Handbook of Texas): JPL 3rd Floor Reference F384 .N48 1996 (6 volumes)
Available in print and online.  This encyclopedia, created and maintained by the Texas State Historical Association, provides information on the history, geography, and culture of Texas.

Catalogs, Web Portals and other Texas Information

Texas Online: Official Web Portal
Free government website: http://www.texasonline.com/
Official Web Portal for the State of Texas to locate links to Texas Government resources on the web.

TRAIL: Texas Records and Information Locator
Free government website: http://www2.tsl.state.tx.us/trail/
TRAIL searches and links to information from over 180 Texas state agency web servers. It also provides basic information about state agencies including contact, legal, budgetary and background resources on the alphabetical Texas State Agencies page.

Library Catalog of Texas State Agencies
Free government website: http://www.tsl.state.tx.us/webcat/index.html
Searchable online catalog of the holdings of the Texas State Library and Archives Commission and five partner agencies. Useful for identifying Texas government publications. Not all items owned by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission prior to 1976 will be listed in this catalog. UTSA may own the item (check UCAT) or you can request through Interlibrary Loan.

State Agency Databases
Free website: http://wikis.ala.org/godort/index.php/State_Agency_Databases
Annotated list of databases from state governments listed by agency.  Compiled by Government Documents Round Table of the American Library Association (GODORT).

Texas Reference Center (via EBSCO) (UTSA subscription)
Provides access to the full text of over 80 journals and books about Texas history, ethnic and cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, and business. Includes biographies portraying famous historical and contemporary Texans.

TRAIL: List of Texas State Agencies
Free government website: http://www.tsl.state.tx.us/apps/lrs/agencies/
Links for each state agency for contact information, addresses, phone numbers and links to enabling legislation for that agency.

TARO: Texas Archival Resources Online
Free website:
http://www.lib.utexas.edu/taro/
Contains collection descriptions or "finding aids" for the rich archival, manuscript, library and museum collections in repositories across the state available to the public.

      

    Mission of Government Documents Unit

    The mission of the Government Documents Unit is to serve the government information needs of the UTSA community and citizens of the 23rd U.S. Congressional District by collecting and organizing government information and providing free public access, instruction, and quality reference assistance in the use of these materials.

        

      Government Documents Coordinator

      Profile Image
      Rita Wilson
      Contact Info
      UTSA Library -- Main Campus
      One UTSA Circle
      San Antonio, Texas 78249
      210-458-7572
      Send Email
       

      Texas State Flag

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip