This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Company Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Find information about companies.
Last Updated: Sep 3, 2015 URL: Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page

Companies in UTSA Databases

  • MarketLine
    U.S. and international public and private companies profiles. MarketLine (Datamonitor) reports including SWOT analyses.
  • Mergent Online
    U.S. and international public companies. Comprehensive financials with annual reports going back to mid-1990s; SEC filings. Create a list of companies for financial analysis.
  • AtoZ Databases
    A directory of companies, residents, consumer interests/hobbies. Build customized lists for different geographies.
  • S&P NetAdvantage
    "How to Analyze a Company in a Specific Industry" sections in S&P Industry Surveys; Stock Reports; Corporation Records; Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives; Outlook, Mutual Fund Reports, and more. Includes Compustat Excel Analytics and Credit Week.
  • MintGlobal
    Provides a user-friendly interface to ORBIS. U.S and global public and private companies from from 225 countries; bank and insurance reports; comprehensive ownership/subsidiary coverage; directors and contacts; market reports; business news and more. Create company lists based on multiple criteria.
    Via Bureau van Dijk. Powerful interface for researchers (see Mint Global).
  • LexisNexis Company Dossier
    Start with Get Company Info to access Company Dossier. Covers U.S. and international public and private companies. Includes selected in-depth records from Hoover's. Parent and subsidiary information; lawsuits against the company; patents, trademarks and copyrights held by the company; accounting and auditing. Executive compensation and biographies. Also search for company news.
  • ThomsonONE Investment Banking
    IE browser only. To find investment analyst reports> Select Screening & Analysis at the top > Research.
  • MorningStar Investment Research Center
    Provides extensive stock analysis, performance, key ratios, financials, insiders, shareholders, transcripts, filings, bonds, and options.
  • ABI/Inform Complete
    Aggregator. Academic, trade, popular business publications; newspapers including the Wall Street Journal; wires; reports, and more.
  • Business Source Complete
    Aggregator. Articles from academic, trade, popular business publications including Harvard Business Review; reports; and more.
  • Mergent Web Reports
    Archive of Mergent/Moody's manuals, including bank & finance, industrial, international, OTC industrial, OTC unlisted, public utility, transportation, and municipal & government.
  • S&P Capital IQ
    U.S. and international public and private companies, private equity firms, active securities and company executives. Powerful screening capabilities. Available only on designated workstations:
    (1)College of Business: Financial Studies Center, Department of Finance, and doctoral students’ office.
    (2) JPL: 2nd floor workstations 14 and 15 (with Excel plug-in modeling tool). Ask for help at the Info Desk
    (3) DT: workstation 18. Ask for help at the desk.
  • Bloomberg
    Analysis and quotes for equities and indices; current company, industry, and market news; and economic data.
    Accessible only on Bloomberg terminals at JPL and COB Financial Studies Center.
  • PrivCo
    Financial data on major privately-held companies including private financials and revenues, private M&A deals, private firm valuations, VC funding, private equity deal history, private and family ownership breakdowns, and more. Based on a proprietary model.

Availability of Company Information

How much information you can find about a company depends on these factors:

less information ◊ more information  >

Public Company (publicly-held, listed)
  • Sells shares to general public to raise capital
  • Regulated by the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)
  • Required to disclose financial information to SEC and shareholders
  • Listed on one of stock exchanges and has a ticker symbol 

Private Company (privately-held, unlisted)

  • May be owned by founders, employees , and large investors (venture capitalists)
  • No disclosure of information is required

Company status may change over time.  The easiest way to determine whether a company is public  is to run a Google search for company name ticker since a public company has to have a ticker symbol, and then confirm the current status using SEC's EDGAR tool.


Sources of Company Information

Multiple free and subscription sources about companies are available:

  • What the company tells you:

 company websites, promotional materials, catalogs, price lists,and more

  • What the company keeps confidential:

internal information, trade secrets, and more

  • What the company has to disclose to the government:

10Q, 10K, other SEC forms, economic census, state filings, conference earning calls

  • What others say about the company:

news, blogs, research articles, books, market research, analyst reports, government, industry and trade experts, and more

Evaluate Information

The ability to quickly and critically evalute your sources is an important research skill. 

      currency   (when)
  • Do you need current or historical data?
  • When was the information created/updated? is it out of date?
  • Any major events happened since the information was published?
R      relevance   (what)
  • Is the information relevant to your topic and research goals?

R      reliability   (how)

  • What are the sources?
  • Are they credible? 
  • Are the methods of collecting information and analysis disclosed?
A      author (who)
  • Is the author qualified to write on a topic?
  • What are his/her credentials?

     bias (why)

  • Is there a discernible conflict of interest?
  • Is the topic presented from alternative viewpoints?

    Glossary: What's the Difference?

    Multiple terms may be used to describe companies, each with a varying meaning and in different contexts.


    Company: a business enterprise; an inclusive term for any type of business organization which can be a proprietorship, a partnership, or a corporation.

    Closely-held company: a publicly-traded or private company where a small group of shareholders controls the majority of shares.

    Enterprise: a company, firm, or other commercial entity, whether private or public, for profit or nonprofit. Often applied to a newly formed venture. May consist of many physical locations, or establishments. The term is used by the U.S. Bureau of Census.

    Establishment: a single physical location where business is conducted, or where services are performed. The term is used by the U.S. Bureau of Census for any business location that has one or more employees. Many businesses operate in multiple establishments. The establishment definition varies among industry groups because of differences in structure or standard practices.

    Firm:  a commercial partnership of two or more persons; the name or designation under which a company transacts business. Legally firm refers only to an non-incorporated business.

    Franchise: an arrangement in which an independent business operates one or more establishments under license by the parent company, which may provide training, advertising, and financing.

    Legal Structure

    Corporation: a legal entity created by state charter, endowed with specific powers and capable of surviving the deaths of its owners. May be profit and nonprofit (educational, scientific, charitable and religious). Stockholders and employees of a corporation cannot be held personally responsible for any debt or lawsuits faced by the company.

    Partnership: an association of two or more people for the purpose of jointly owning a business.

    Sole proprietorship:  the simplest and most common form of business organization. The major legal requirement is that the founder register the business name with the local government where the company will reside.

    Corporate Family Structure

     (see more under under Corporate Family tab)

     Parent Company: a company that controls or owns another company or companies.

    Subsidiary: a corporation in which more than 50% of its voting stock is owned by another company.  The subsidiary may have a different name than the controlling corporation.

    Wholly owned subsidiary:  100 % of the firm's stock or assets have been acquired by the parent.

    Compiled from:
    Dictionary of business terms by Jack P. Friedman, 2000.
    Business information : needs and strategies  by Eileen G. Abels and Deborah P. Klein, 2008.

    Business Librarian

    Profile Image
    Natasha Arguello
    Contact Info
    UTSA Libraries
    JPL 4.04.08V
    One UTSA Circle
    San Antonio, TX 78249
    Send Email

    Related Guides

    Advanced Google and Beyond

    Try Advanced Google search and different search engines to locate business information.


    Loading  Loading...