This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Industry Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Find information about industries.
Last Updated: Aug 6, 2014 URL: http://libguides.utsa.edu/industry Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Industry Profiles

You may find industry profiles in these UTSA databases:

  • MarketLine
    MarketLine (formerlyDatamonitor) reports including Porter's Five Forces analyses.
  • IBIS World
    Contains over 700 detailed industry market reports based on the 5-digit NAICS classification codes. Reports include industry performance, life cycle, products and markets, supply chain, operating conditions, regulation and policy, key competitors, barriers to entry, outlook and more.

  • NetAdvantage
    Provides access to comprehensive business and investment information, including S&P's products such as Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, The Outlook, Mutual Fund Reports, and others. Includes Compustat Excel Analytics and Credit Week.

  • Thomson One Investment Banking
    IE browser only. Investment analyst reports. Select Screening & Analysis on the left menu > Research.
  • ABI/Inform Complete
    Search by keyword and limit to industry reports, or click on Browse Tab and then browse reports from Business Monitor International (BMI), First Research, Just-Series.
  • Business Source Complete
    On the right menu, click on the Industry Profiles, or search by keyword.
  • Passport GMID
    International market research reports for consumer goods and services industries, travel and tourism.
  • Mintel Oxygen
    Market research reports for consumer goods, health and travel for the U.S. and Western Europe.
  • Market Research Academic
    Market research reports for consumer goods, business services, technology, health sciences, communications and more.

E-Books

Search within these e-books or browse the table of contents.

 

Industry Research Checklist

Ø Identify your industry classification codes:

  • Browse SIC & NAICS manuals
  • Run a search for <industry name> NAICS
  • Identify a major public company in your industry, check its company profile in the recommended databases for industry codes. Remember that a company may have more than one industry code.

Ø Determine how your industry fits into industry classifications (is it too narrow or too broad?). You might have to piece your industry analysis together from many sources.

Ø Check industry profiles in databases by NAICS/SIC or keyword.

Ø Review terminology used in the databases.

Ø Explore the recommended industry websites.

Ø Check if your industry is regulated and identify the regulatory body.

Ø Who are the major players in the industry?

Ø Locate their company profiles and specifically 10-Ks /annual reports.

Ø Identify trade associations and examine their websites for news, resources, industry experts.

Ø Search trade and business publications for industry news.

Ø Try different search engines to compare results.

Ø Sometimes you might have to pick up a phone and give a call to an industry expert. 


 Check the Polson Enterprises' Guide to Industry Research for additional ideas.

U.S. Census Bureau Industry Data

Every five years the U.S. Census Bureau profiles American business at the national and local levels. The data are collected at the establishment level, i.e. a single physical location where business is conducted.

In addition, a number of surveys are conducted annually.

The Business tab on the Census website provides access to economic and industry data.

The Industry Statistics portal offers a gateway to Census data by source, frequency, latest data, geography, and industry scope (2 or more digit NAICS code).


Useful Websites

Business Librarian

Profile Image
Natasha Arguello
Contact Info
UTSA Libraries
JPL 4.04.08V
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, TX 78249
210.458.7444
Send Email

Related Guides

 

Acknowledgement

Special thanks to Susan M. Klopper and the Goizueta Business Library for the inspiration and many ideas in creating this guide.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip