Texas Counties and Other U.S. Counties
Texas Vital Statistics
Texas Vital Statistics Annual Report Texas Dept. of State Health Services
Texas vital statistics, including births, deaths by cause, marriages, and divorces, by age, sex, race, county, and city. Free online: 2001-2013.
For older years, see print
Texas Vital Statistics
Texas Documents 4th Floor H 600.8 .V83ST
Or Statistical Insight (UTSA Subscription)
County Facts & Figures
Bexar County Government
Free website: http://www.bexar.org
Bexar County QuickFacts (U.S. Census)
Free website: http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/states/48/48029.html
County Level Population Data For States
Free website: http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS520900
County and City Data Book
Free website: http://www.census.gov/statab/www/ccdb.html
Location: JPL 3rd Floor Reference HA202 .A36
Provides statistical information on population, vital statistics and health care, households, local government, employment, education, crime, labor force, and business establishments.
County Maps of Texas (Atlas)
Location: JPL 2nd Floor Map Center Atlas Stand, G1371 .P2 T42
Digital Atlas of Texas Counties
Free website: http://gis.ttu.edu/center/TexasGISData.html
Created by the Center for Geospatial Technology at Texas Tech University,
Includes satellite relief maps and data sets about the roads, rivers, lakes, and other features. Users can download information. The site also contains a number of Featured Links to U.S. Census and Texas Association of Counties.
Municipal Year Book
Location: JPL 3rd Floor JS 342 .A2I52; older editions JPL Stacks & Downtown Library Stacks
Displays data on cities and counties. Includes statistics on salaries, government finances, and types of government.
Texas County Quick Facts (U.S. Census)
Free Website: http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/maps/texas_map.html
Grid map of Texas counties and links to summary U.S. Census data for each county.
State and County Quick Facts (U.S. Census)
Free Website: http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/index.html
QuickFacts tables are summary profiles showing frequently requested data from the U.S. Census Bureau. Profiles are available for the nation, states, counties, and cities over 25,000.
Texas at Your Fingertips: Counties
Free website: http://www.texasonline.com/portal/tol/en/gov/11/3
Links to official websites of each of the 254 Texas counties, census information for Texas counties, County Clerk Office locations, local sales tax allocations, population data, road reports, the Texas Association of Counties, and property assessment information.
Texas Almanac (UTSA subscription)
Online: Texas Reference Center (UTSA subscription) 2010, 2012, 2014
Location: JPL 2nd Floor Information Desk AY 311 .G3 T5; older editions available in JPL Stacks
Location: Downtown Library, Reference Desk AY 311 .G3 T5
Archive online: Portal of Texas (1857-2005)
The Texas Almanac contains a description of each county in Texas. Provides reference and statistical information about the history, culture, politics, climate, economics, and geography of the state of Texas. Latest edition available online.
Texas State Data Center
2010 Census - Descriptive Data Tables for Texas Counties
Free government website: http://censtats.census.gov/testusac/usa.shtml
Data from the U. S. Census Bureau and other Federal agencies, such as Bureau of Economic Analysis, Bureau of Labor Statistics, FBI, and Social Security Administration. Covers many general topics including demographic data, education, housing, crime, health, poverty, retail & wholesale trade, elections, and water use.
Texas Secretary of State: Elections Division
Free government website: http://www.sos.state.tx.us/elections
The Secretary of State is the chief election officer for the State of Texas. Their website includes election results by county back to 1992: http://www.sos.state.tx.us/elections/historical/
Bexar County Elections Department
Free government website: http://elections.bexar.org/
Click on “Past Election Results” to find numbers by precinct for elections in Bexar County back to 1994. There is a link for Voting Locations by Precinct. Data is complicated by the fact that early voters can vote outside their precincts.
U.S. Census - Voting and Registration
Free government website: http://www.census.gov/hhes/www/socdemo/voting/index.html
Information from the U.S. Population Survey including detailed tables broken down by state.
The Diversifying Electorate: Voting Rates by Race and Hispanic Origin in 2012 (and Other Recent Elections)
Free government website: https://www.census.gov/prod/2013pubs/p20-568.pdf
From U.S. Current Population Survey
This report provides analysis of the increasingly diverse American electorate, specifically for presidential elections since 1996.
ProQuest Statistical Insight (UTSA subscription)
Online database includes Statistical Abstract of the United States, American Statistics Index, Index to International Statistics, and Statistical Reference Index. Statistical Reference Index section contains county and state government reports that contain statistical data. All reports available either online or on accompanying microfiche collection.