Biographies are found in almost any reference source, including dictionaries, almanacs, and encyclopedias as well as online databases. This guide gives a sample of print and online sources from the UTSA Main Campus and Downtown Library.
Free Biographies on the Internet
Biography.com (A&E Biography)
Official site of A&E's Biography TV series. The material here is from the Columbia Biographical Dictionary.
More than 28,000 notable men and women from ancient times to the present day. Searchable by names, birth years, death years, professions, literary and artistic works among others.
InfoPlease Almanac : Biography
Brief biographies and links to other sites (some pay).
Biography and Genealogy Master Index (UTSA subscription)
Comprehensive index to biographies on contemporary and historical figures in dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference sources. Indispensable for finding obscure figures. Citations only; check UCAT to see if UTSA owns the work cited.
Biography In Context (UTSA subscription)
Biographical information on 275,000 historical and contemporary persons worldwide.
Biography Index Past and Present (UTSA subscription)
Location: JPL 3rd Floor CT105 .B5 (1946-1995)
Index to biographies, obituaries, interviews, and other biographical materials in English-language books and journal articles. Citations only
Encyclopedia of World Biography (UTSA subscription)
Gale Virtual Reference Library (32 volumes)
Gale Virtual Reference Library (UTSA subscription)
Contains the full text of over 915 volumes of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources in a variety of disciplines. Full Text
LexisNexis Academic (UTSA subscription)
Access to Marquis Who's Who, Who's Who in France, Who's Who in American Art, Who's Who in Russia, Who's Who in European Business, etc. Locate specific databases under Source Directory.
Scribner Encyclopedia of American Lives (UTSA subscription)
Location: JPL Reference Stacks CT213 .S37 1998 v. 1-6
SEAL profiles the careers and achievements of Americans who have made significant contributions.
Other General Biography Resources - UTSA subscriptions
LexisNexis Academic: Research People (UTSA subscription)
Get background information on a politician, movie star, sports great or any other person in the news. Use the Search by Content > Biographical Information. Full text.
American National Biography
Location: JPL 3rd Floor CT213 .A68 1999 v. 1-24; supplements 1, 2
Contains portraits of 17,450 men and women from all eras and all walks of life who have shaped American history and culture.
Current Biography/Current Biography Yearbook
Location: JPL 3rd Floor CT100 .C8
A collection of biographical sketches of prominent persons in the news with a photograph. Coverage is 1940 to current.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Location: JPL 3rd Floor DA28 .O95 2004 v. 1-61
50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2001.
UTSA Libraries -- Main Campus
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, Texas 78249
Government Documents, Legal, Anthropology, Spanish, Mexican American Studies, BBL, Ethnic Studies, Political Science & Geography
Master's in Library Studies, Univ. Michigan; MA Economics, Eastern Michigan Univ.; BA Anthropology, Univ. of Michigan