This is the "Germany Today" page of the "German History & Culture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

German History & Culture  

Last Updated: Apr 17, 2014 URL: http://libguides.utsa.edu/german Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Germany Today Print Page
  Search: 
 

Study Abroad & Travel

  • UTSA's Study Abroad Office
    This office helps UTSA find and finance study abroad programs and opportunities.
  • DAAD (German Academic Exchange Service)
    Helps students, researchers, and faculty in the USA to study or do research in Germany. DAAD is a publicly-funded independent organization. They provide financial support to over 57,000 students and faculty per year for German studies.
  • Fullbright Program for US Students
    Sponsored by the US State Department, Fullbright Programs help US students study at universities in 140 countries.
  • German National Tourist Board
    Official travel website set up by the German government for American travelers. This site features travel planning helps, tips and tricks for saving money, and a lot of other helps for travelers.
  • Everything About Germany
    A practical website for those traveling in Germany. Features various attractions, as well as information about public transportation systems, and how American electronics (cell phones, media players, etc.) can be used in Germany.
  • German Travel Guide
    Helpful travel guide with information about the best times to visit Germany, expected costs, events, attractions, food, photos, and other information.

Contemporary German Resources at the UTSA Libraries

UTSA Libraries has a number of resources in German and about Germany today.  See the German Research Resources tab of this research guide for research help and information.  Current German resources that the UTSA Libraries owns are listed below:

Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture
Call Number: DD290.26 .E53 1999
Available in print and online.

Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Available ONLINE ONLY.

Neue deutsche Biographie
Available ONLINE ONLY.

Der Spiegel
Highly respected German periodical published weekly in Hamburg.
Print & Microfilm Availability:  AP30 .S66
Electronic Availability:CLICK HERE
Website: http://www.spiegel.de/international/

Die Zeit
Highly respected nationwide weekly German newspaper.
Print & Microfilm Availability: AP30 .Z39
Electronic Availability: CLICK HERE
Website: http://www.zeit.de/index

German Monitor
German periodical covering several contemporary and scholarly topics.
Print Availability: DD261 .G19
Electronic Availability: CLICK HERE

Berlin Online
Website all about modern Berlin.
http://www.berlinonline.de/

Facts About Germany
Website in German and English all about Germany.
http://www.tatsachen-ueber-deutschland.de/en/home1.html
 

      

    Government Resources

    • German Government Website
      The official government website of Germany acessible in 6 languages including German & English. Contains a variety of information sources about the country, its people, laws, and government structure.
    • Germany Embassy Website
      The official website of the German Embassy in the United States. It contains a variety of information on German Missions in the United States. There is travel and cultural information. You can sign up to get German news in English or German, and news about German events in the US. Learn about the German Ambassador. Collect facts on Germany or German statistics.
    • US Library of Congress Website on Germany
      Offers a variety of information on Germany including: history, arts, industry, religion, statistics, military, politics, and much much more.
    • US Embassy in Germany
      Official site for German Embassy from the The US State Department. Information about American missions in Germany, US-German relations, travel guidelines, and US events in Germany.
    • CIA World Fact Book
      Offers photos, facts, statistics, geographical information, economic data, population information, and much more.
    • German Originality
      Website for German American heritage brought to you by the German National Tourist Office and the German Information Center USA.

    German Libraries, Archives, and Cultural Institutions

    • German National Library
      Search the German National Library's catalog and online collections. Available in German or English, this link connects to the English version, but you may change the language by clicking the link in the upper left tab.
    • Federal Archives of Germany
      Browse over the collections and get information about the Federal Archives of Germany. The German version of this website is more complete, but you may view it partially in English by clicking in the upper righthand corner.
    • Goethe-Institut (Germany's Cultural Institution)
      The Goethe Institut houses exhibits in art, philosophy, and social issues. It provides a variety of information and cultural resources. Website is fully available in English or German by clicking in the upper right corner.
    • German History in Documents & Images
      Provides transcripts and scans of original documents from Medieval to modern times. Document types include: government documents, literature, illuminated manuscripts, religious sermons, political speeches, and diary entries. The site is available in both German and English by clicking the language links at the bottom of the screen.
    • Libraries, Archives: Germany
      Run by the US Library of Congress, this site provides a list of links to library catalogs, websites, archives, databases, and bibliographies in Germany. Available in English only.
    • German Studies Trails on the Web
      Created by Professor Andreas Lixl at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro, this website is an archive of a variety of German research resources.
     

    Contemporary German Books at the UTSA Libraries

    UTSA Libraries has a number of resources in German and about Germany today.  See the German Research Resources tab of this research guide for research help and information.  Current German resources that the UTSA Libraries owns are listed below:

    Cover Art
    Encyclopedia of contemporary German culture
    Call Number: Online
    ISBN: 0415245885

    Cover Art
    Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
    Call Number: Online
    ISBN: 0787677272
    Essays on approximately 150 culture groups of the U.S., from Acadians to Yupiats, covering their history, acculturation and assimilation, family and community dynamics, language and religion.

    Cover Art
    Neue deutsche Biographie
    Call Number: Online
    ISBN: 3428001818

    Journals on Contemporary German Culture

    Your Librarian

    Profile Image
    Shari Salisbury
    Contact Info
    John Peace Library
    University of Texas at San Antonio
    1 UTSA Circle
    San Antonio, TX 78249

    (210) 458-4763
    Send Email
     

    Acknowledgement

    This guide was originally created by Lisa Webster.

    Maps

    • National Geographic Maps
      Allows you to find maps by country or city and to view those locales via road map or satelite.
    • Infoplease World Maps
      Provides basic maps and country information.
    • IEG Maps
      Provides a comprehensive listing of German maps both modern and at various historical time periods. Website available in German only.

    German Media


    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip