Johnnie M. Stover explores the origin and power of black women writers' voices using the personal narratives of 19th-century Americans who were slaves or indentured servants. Displaying aspects of the oral traditions of Yoruba culture in West Africa, these voices took on a subversive tone, a form of expression that Stover describes as the "mother tongue" and argues is completely different from literary forms employed by white men or women or black men.
Presented here are all four chapters of Mill's essay written in 1861, which address the legal subordination of women as manifested in their exclusion from the political process and their lack of any rights within marriage. Principally considered is the relation of the sexes within the family structure as a paradigm of, and the seedbed for, the general social and political structure that surrounds it. Edited by Sue Mansfield, this carefully annotated volume also contains an introduction, a list of principal dates in the life of John Stuart Mill, and a bibliography. 'Presented here are all four chapters of Mill's essay written in 1861, which address the legal subordination of women as manifested in their exclusion from the political process and their lack of any rights within marriage. Principally considered is the relation of the sexes within the family structure as a paradigm of, and the seedbed for, the general social and political structure that surrounds it. Edited by Sue Mansfield, this carefully annotated volume also contains an introduction, a list of principal dates in the life of John Stuart Mill, and a bibliography.
This book is based on the 12 critical areas of concern identified at the Beijing Conference: 1 The persistent and increasing burden of poverty on women 2 Inequalities and inadequacies in and unequal access to education and training 3 Inequalities and inadequacies in and unequal access to health care and related services 4 Violence against women 5 The effects of armed or other kinds of conflict on women, including those living under foreign occupation 6 Inequality in economic structures and policies, in all forms of productive activities and in access to resources 7 Inequality between men and women in the sharing of power and decision- making at all levels 8 Insufficient mechanisms at all levels to promote the advancement of women 9 Lack of respect for and inadequate promotion and protection of the human rights of women 10 Stereotyping of women and inequality in women’s access to and participation in all communication systems, especially in the media 11 Gender inequalities in the management of natural resources and in the safeguarding of the environment 12 Persistent discrimination against and violation of the rights of the girl child.
This course offers an introduction to Women's and Gender Studies, an interdisciplinary field that asks critical questions about the meanings of sex and gender in society. The primary goal of this course is to familiarize students with key issues, questions and debates in Women's and Gender Studies, both historical and contemporary. Gender studies scholarship critically analyzes themes of gendered performance and power in a range of social spheres, such as education, law, culture, work, medicine and the family. WGS. 101 draws on multiple disciplines--such as literature, history, economics, psychology, sociology, philosophy, political science, anthropology and media studies-- to examine cultural assumptions about sex, gender, and sexuality. This course integrates analysis of current events through student presentations, aiming to increase awareness of contemporary and historical experiences of women, and of the multiple ways that sex and gender interact with race, class, nationality and other social identities.
Cross-searches multidisciplinary suite of Alexander Street Press streaming video, audio and text collections including: Music Online, Classical Scores Library, Filmakers Library, Ethnographic Video Online, Anthropology Online, Social Work Video, Counseling and Therapy in Video, Engineering Case Studies Online, Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, and VAST: Academic Video Online. Use Advanced Search to search specific collections. Does not include Latino Literature, American Film Scripts, North American Immigrant Letters, North American Women's Letters and Diaries, or Women and Social Movements in the United States.
Digitally streams over 1,000 educational videos in the Humanities & Social Sciences and Business & Economics collections, including anthropology, art & architecture, business & economics, communication, criminal justice, English, geography, history, music, philosophy & religion, political science, psychology, sociology and world languages.
Digitally streams thousands of popular films and documentaries, as well as educational videos in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Sciences, Business, and K-12 Education. Includes producers such as the BBC, Criterion Collection, First Run Features, and PBS.
Provides access to books, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, plus over 1,000 images, 3,600 documents, and 900 links to other websites, documenting the history of women in social movements in the U.S. from colonial times through the twentieth century. In addition, 92 document projects examine interpretive questions concerning women's history throughout this time period. New documents and document projects are added annually.
Covers 1700s to present. Nearly 4,500 books and 265 journals that trace the evolution of feminism and women's rights in the United States, Britain, Canada, continental Europe, and New Zealand, among other geographic areas. Topics include the nature and role of women, the historical and legal status of women, prostitution, the education of girls and women, biography and autobiography, women writers, marriage and the family, employment of women, women and religion, women's voluntary associations, and many others. Materials available span four centuries and appear in fifteen languages, with English-language summaries available for many titles.