The essential reference for human development theory, updated and re-conceptualized The Handbook of Child Psychology and Developmental Science, a four-volume reference, is the field-defining work to which all others are compared. First published in 1946, and now in its Seventh Edition, the Handbook has long been considered the definitive guide to the field of developmental science.
Books Available Though the UTSA Libraries
These are only a few of the many books available to you at the JPL and Downtown Library. For additional books, please search via our Library Quick Search box.
No influence has more profoundly affected educational thought and practice during the late 19th and early 20th centuries than the science of psychology. This volume discusses the major differences between education prior to the influence of educational psychology and then examines the impact this had on the education of children and the experience of teachers.
A trusted, bestselling resource, this volume demonstrates a range of creative approaches for facilitating children's emotional reparation and recovery from trauma. Experts in play, art, music, movement, and drama therapy, as well as bibliotherapy, describe step-by-step strategies for working with children, families, and groups. Rich with case material and artwork, the book is both practical and user-friendly.
Now in its second edition, this handbook provides the field of school-based consultation with a comprehensive volume examining research perspectives and methodologies, models of practice, and future research directions. Revised and updated, this collection brings together leading experts in the field, offering both producers and consumers of school consultation an invaluable snapshot of the current boundaries and rapidly growing content of the discipline.
Like its acclaimed predecessor, the Second Edition of the Handbook of School Mental Health offers ways for professionals to maximize resources, make and strengthen valuable connections, and attain more effective school-based services and programming. At the same time, the Handbook provides strategies and recommendations in critical areas, such as workforce development, interdisciplinary collaborations, youth/family engagement, consultation, funding, and policy concerns, summarizes the state of current research, and offers directions for further study.
3 volume set. The APA Educational Psychology Handbook reflects the broad nature of the field today, with state-of-the-science reviews of the diverse critical theories driving research and practice; in-depth investigation of the range of individual differences and cultural/contextual factors that affect student achievement, motivation, and beliefs; and close examination of the research driving current assessment, decision making, teaching skills and content, teacher preparation, and the promotion of learning across the life span and with special populations.
Evidence based and practical, this book presents state-of-the-science approaches for helping K-12 students who struggle with aggressive behaviors, anxiety, depression, ADHD, and autism. It explains the fundamentals of cognitive-behavioral intervention and reviews exemplary programs that offer powerful ways to reach at-risk children and adolescents.
The 11th Edition maintains the lucid writing style for which the author is renowned, combined with a clear emphasis on educational psychology's practical relevance for teachers and students in classrooms. The new edition includes expanded coverage of Constructivism, Social Cognitive Theory, and Self-Regulated Learning, as well as new chapters devoted to The Learning Sciences and Constructivism (Ch 9) and Social Cognitive Views of Learning and Motivation (Ch 10).
Call Number: JPL 3rd Floor and DTL: LB1051 .H2354 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Sponsored by Division 15 of APA, the second edition of this groundbreaking book has been expanded to 41 chapters that provide unparalleled coverage of this far-ranging field. Internationally recognized scholars contribute up-to-date reviews and critical syntheses of the following areas: foundations and the future of educational psychology, learners’ development, individual differences, cognition, motivation, content area teaching, socio-cultural perspectives on teaching and learning, teachers and teaching, instructional design, teacher assessment, and modern perspectives on research methodologies, data, and data analysis.
This essential resource offers a perceptive analysis of counseling children under the age of 13. Renowned experts examine cases on an array of common childhood issues. Each case offers a variety treatment approaches for working with clients for whom words are not necessarily their primary form of communication.
Guidance and counseling is evolving from a school support service to being an integral partner in educational reform, according to Gysbers (educational, school, and counseling psychology, U. of Missouri-Columbia) and Henderson (former director of guidance with a Texas school district). Following an historical overview and case for this process requiring the field to have its own subject- matter base, they extend the model presented in the 2000 edition for implementing a comprehensive program.