EndNote for Mac

This guide details the steps for using EndNote on a Mac. It covers Cite While You Write in Pages and Word for Mac.

Cite While You Write for Pages

CWYW is slightly different for Pages than for Word. You may have been used to the EndNote toolbar in Word documents. All EndNote functions in Pages are driven through the menu bar at the top of the page. However, the menu options are recognizable. If you were used to using EndNote in Word on a Mac, the transition to pages should be fairly painless.

How To Cite While You Write

Inserting Citations:

  1. Place your cursor in the spot in your paper where you want your citation marker to appear.
  2. Go to "Insert" in the menu bar and select "EndNote Citation..." or press shift+command+E.
  3. The "Find EndNote Citations" box will appear.
  4. Type in information about your Reference (author, title, or year) to search your library and find your Reference
  5. Select the Reference you wish to insert into your paper and click the "Insert" button at the bottom of the box.
  6. Your in-text citation now appears and the citation has been added to your notes at the end of your paper (Bibliography or Works Cited page).

Formatting your Bibliography:

  1. Go to "Edit" in the menu bar and move your mouse to "EndNote Citations," then "Bibliography Format".
  2. A box of available formats will appear.
  3. Select the style you would like to use and your bibliography will reformat instantly.
  4. EndNote automatically inserts a page break and begins the bibliography at the end of your paper.

*If your desired output style is unavailable, you need to go to your EndNote library and mark your desired style as a favorite. Follow these steps:

  1. Go to your EndNote Library.
  2. Go to "Edit" in the menu bar then move your mouse to "Output Styles".
  3. A box will appear. Select  "Open Style Manager" from the list.
  4. The "EndNote Styles" box will appear
  5. Check the output styles you wish to use then close the "EndNote Styles" box. You do not need to click save, the information is automatically captured. Be warned! If you have more than 6 output styles selected, only the first 6 will appear as options in your Pages document.

*The heading "Bibliography" automatically appears at the top of the bibliography at the end of the document. You may replace it manually with a different heading, like "Works Cited". It is not possible to format or change a setting to automatically include a different heading.

Omitting a Field

Editing an Existing Citation

  1. Double click the citation you wish to change.
  2. The "Manage Citations" box will appear.
  3. All your citations will appear, but the citation you highlighted in your document should be highlighted.
  4. Click "Exclude Author" and/or "Exclude Year," depending on the construction of your sentence.

Modifying a Citation as it is Created

  1. Go to "Insert" in the menu bar, then select ""EndNote Citation".
  2. When the search box appears, find your reference.
  3. Select "In Bibliography Only," "Exclude Author," or "Exclude Year" or as appropriate.
  4. Click the "Insert" button.

*Selecting "In Bibliography Only" will include the Reference in your bibliography, but not populate citation information in the body of your paper. Use this option when you have included the bibliographic information in the sentence.