EndNote for Mac

This guide details the steps for using EndNote on a Mac. It covers Cite While You Write in Pages and Word for Mac.

Export a Reference From a Database Directly

To do this, you must be in one of our databases and have already selected a Reference that you would like to import to EndNote. Once there, follow the steps outlined below. For help accessing our databases, please Ask a Librarian or call the Information Desk at 210-458-4573. The interface for each database varies to a certain extent, but the direct-import steps should be recognizable.

1. From the bibliographic record in the database, select the link or icon that says "Export" or "Export to Bibliographic Manager" or "Save/Email".

2. A box will appear listing the various available exportation formats.

3. Select the format that says: Direct Export to EndNote, ProCite, CITAVI, or Reference ManagerThis may vary depending on the database. Different databases have different ways of indicating an EndNote export including "Export to Citation Manager," or "Export to Bibliographic Management Software".

4. Click Save.

5. A box indicating that the browser will use software to open the file will pop up. Make sure that you are opening the file with EndNote. Check the box indicating that you would like to "Do this automatically for files like this from now on."

6. If a box pops up entitled, "Select a Reference Library," simply choose the library where you would like the reference to reside. Do not select a folder that ends with .Data; instead, select a file with the .ENL extension. You should recognize your library by its name. Click on the "Open" button.

7. Voila!  The Reference will appear in your EndNote library.

Things to be aware of:

1. The PDF will not import with the rest of the record. You must save it separately and attach it to the appropriate Reference.

2. If they are available, the Abstract, DOI, and URL will populate in the record.

For the must up-to-date list of databases that will directly export references to EndNote, please see the EndNote website. UTSA may not subscribe to every database listed. (SEARCH FOR LINK TO ENDNOTE EXPORT PROVIDERS)

Import a Reference From a Database that Does Not Support EndNote

From the database, select the record(s) you wish to move to your EndNote library, then follow these steps:

1. Save the bibliographic record. This option may look different depending on the database. For Example, in CSA-hosted databases, you will select the link that says, "Save, Print, Email".

2. Ensure that you are saving only the records you want, rather than all those returned in your query.

3. Verify that the file is formatted for your needs, Mac, PC, etc. and click the Save button.

4. A box will appear asking whether you would like to save or open the file.  Open the file with TextEdit application and check the box indicating you would like to "Do this automatically for files like this from now on."

5. Save this file to your desktop giving it a name you will recognize and close the TextEdit application. The file should be in .txt format.

6. Verify that the file is on your desktop.

7. Open your EndNote Library.

8. Go to File, Import or on the toolbar at the top of the screen, select the down arrow to import.You may need to customize your toolbar to include this button.

9. An import box will pop up with the following options--

  • Import Options: Select "Other Filters" from the drop-down box. A new box will pop up that will allow you to choose the appropriate filter. Look in the column on the left-hand side of the box that says, "Information Provider". Make sure that the Information Provider's name matches that name of the company that hosts the database you used.  The database names do not have to be the same, but the Information Provider's name MUST match. For example, if you are using a source from Ilumina hosted by CSA, you can select Medline (CSA) as the database name because the Information Provider is CSA in both cases.
  • Duplicates: Select "Import All," "Discard Duplicates," or "Import to Duplicates Library" depending upon how you like to handle duplicate records.
  • Text Translation: The default is "No translation" and it is probably best to leave it as is.

10. Select the text file you just saved to your desktop and click the "Import" button.

11. The Reference should appear in your library!

12. At this point, you may wish to attach a PDF, image, or text file to your Reference.

13. Delete the .txt file from your desktop.