A subject list of quality digital image collections on almost any topic imaginable! Most collections are freely available. Collections with a "lock" icon are subscription only. Check the UTSA Libraries' list of databases to see if we subscribe to any that are "locked."
A large, and growing digital image library - includes more than two million high-quality images for teaching and research. The various collections include images of artworks (paintings, sculpture, etc.), photography (both "artistic" and documentary) as well as the built environment (architectural structures and monuments).
Learn what ArtSTOR has to offer in American Studies, African and African-American Studies, Asian Studies, History of Medicine, Latin American Studies, Maps and Geography, Medieval Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Native American Studies, Renaissance, Women's Studies, and more.
Contains about 95,000 downloadable digital images representing works of art from the collections of prominent museums, including photographs, paintings, sculpture, decorative and utilitarian objects, prints, drawings and watercolors, jewelry and costumes, textiles, books, installations, and architecture, plus audio/video and mixed media. High-resolution images are accompanied by a description. The database also allows printing and downloading of images for student presentations and papers.
AskArt covers primarily American artists, including many regional artists, providing biography, images, citations, auction data, museums owning their work and galleries representing the artist's work. More than 200,000 artists are included.
A digital collection of more than 120,000 works of medieval art. Indexes images and provides textual information and bibliographic citations to written works about the images. Formerly known as Index of Christian Art.
A digital collection of more than 550 rare illuminated medieval and Renaissance manuscripts from the Parker Library at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge, UK. Includes bibliographical references and page-level annotations. Sixth to sixteenth centuries.
Digitized collections from the Institute of Texan Cultures (ITC) Library and the UTSA Libraries, including the San Antonio Light Photo Collection, HemisFair '68 Image Collection, and the Serie Project Print Collection, among others.