Historical Newspapers

English-language Chinese newspaper publish in Hong Kong. Available from several UTSA subscription databases from the early 1990s to present.

English-language Chinese newspaper available in UTSA subscription database from 2013 to present.

Currently includes 43 African American newspapers published around the United States from 1836-1922. The number of available issues per paper varies. Includes the Dallas Express.

This collection contains Southern U.S. newspapers published in the last quarter of the Nineteenth Century. Most were published in Alabama, and most addressed a rural and agricultural audience. Article topics included agricultural science, livestock care, gardening tips, and household hints.

This digital collection includes twenty issues of newspapers published by the Black Americans for Democracy (BAD), a student organization founded in the late 1960s. Active at the University of Arkansas during most of the 1970s, BAD published the newspaper between 1971 and 1977 under three different titles: The BAD Times, Black Americans for Democracy News, and Times (Black Americans for Democracy). BAD was the first organization on campus founded specifically to increase black awareness. Published at an early stage in the integration of public universities in the American South, the newspapers illustrate the challenges faced by African American college students in Arkansas and the significant organizational work students undertook to make the University campus more accommodating and enjoyable for the University’s increasingly diverse student body.

Search and view more than a million digitized newspaper pages. Coverage is from 1836-1922. Sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.

Links and descriptions to interactive maps, graphs, and charts designed to assist users in better understanding the scope and coverage of newspapers in Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers.

Digitized newspapers from throughout Australia, covering 1800-1999. Available on the National Library of Australia's online portal, Trove.

A searchable archive of back issues of Ebony Magazine. Check box to search all issues. 1950s - 2000s.

Historically significant farm weeklies published in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, provided by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. More than 20 titles currently digitized.

Digital facsimiles of historic Illinois newspapers provided by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Coverage is from the late nineteenth to the mid-twentieth centuries.

A searchable archive of back issues of Jet Magazine. Check box to search all issues. 1950s - 2000s.

A searchable archive of back issues of Life Magazine. Check box to search all issues. 1930s - 1970s.

Use the dropdown menus to identify newspapers and journals of interest. Includes digitized content from the 19th and 20th centuries with Marxist, Socialist, Leftist points of view.

Interactive map allows user to find links to digitized newspapers around the globe and in many languages. Zoom in to different areas for a closer look at what’s available. Click the "Historical!" button to find historical newspapers. More resources are continuously being added.

The owner of this website has compiled links to online newspapers and has indicated if they are freely available or if they are available for a fee. Many links lead to digitized newspapers archives such as the Library of Congress or various state archives. Coverage is spotty.

The Southwestern Historical Quarterly, continuously published since 1897, is the premier source of scholarly information about the history of Texas and the Southwest. The first 100 volumes of the Quarterly, more than 57,000 pages, are now available with searchable Tables of Contents.

A digitization project by the J. Willard Marriott Library at the University of Utah that includes Utah newspapers from the 1800s and 1900s. Fully searchable.

Produced by the Japanese-Americans interned at assembly centers and relocation centers around the country during World War II, these newspapers provide a unique look into the daily lives of the people who were held in these camps. From the Library of Congress digital collections.

Request any CRL newspapers on microfilm for free through UTSA Libraries' Interlibrary Loan. More than 12,000 newspaper titles, over 10,000 of which are published outside the U.S. CRL endeavors to collect extensive and, whenever possible, complete runs of newspaper titles, and its holdings of some titles are the most complete in existence. All newspapers can be searched in CRL's catalog. Newspapers are on microfilm and may be requested via Get It for Me.

Search by keyword or browse by country, U.S. state, or ethnicity.