The mission of the Government Documents Unit is to serve the government information needs of the UTSA community and citizens of the 20th U.S. Congressional District by collecting and organizing government information and providing free public access, instruction, and quality reference assistance in the use of these materials.
Congressional Databases: Searching and Finding Congressional Publications
The key indexes to search for U.S. Congressional publications are:
Ø Bill tracking and full text of bills
Ø Federal regulations & Federal Register
Ø Member affiliations, demographic, financial, and voting records
Ø Committee Prints (1830-present)
Ø Hearings (1824-present)
Ø House & Senate Documents and Reports (1817-present)
Ø Legislative Histories (1969-present)
Ø Serial Set & Serial Set Maps (1789-present)
Ø Congressional Record (Daily and Permanent Bound Versions)
Ø Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
FDsys: GPO's Federal Digital System, formerly GPO Access, provides free online access to official versions of publications of the executive, congressional and judicial branches of the U.S. government. Includes congressional hearings, U.S. Code, Statutes at Large, Budget, Presidential Documents, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, Supreme Court Decisions, +. Use Browse Collections for complete list.
FDsys will soon be replaced by govinfo, a platform currently in beta release.
Official website for U.S. federal legislative information. Includes bills and resolutions, committee reports, Congressional Record, Presidential nominations, treaties, summary and status of legislation, congressional member profiles, roll call votes, appropriations, maps, and other related documents. Coverage varies with earliest citations back to 1973. Replaced THOMAS.gov.
Find U.S. government reports, articles, data and citations by simultaneously searching across multiple subject based databases, catalogs, and digital repositories. Search all or create your own sets of searchable databases from such sources as EPA, ERIC, GAO, Data.gov, FdSys, NCJRS, National Archives and Library of Congress.
Extensive collection of historical legislative, executive, and judicial publications on the federal, state, and territorial levels as well as foreign legal materials. All documents are available full text in PDF. Date range: 14th-21st centuries. Title List (.xls).