- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Civil Rights in Texas
Civil Rights in Texas
A guide to primary and secondary sources for the study of the history of civil rights in Texas, arranged thematically and regionally.
Key Databases
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowComprehensive full image coverage of U.S. Congressional publications 1789-present, Updated daily. Hearings (1824-present); Congressional Research Service Reports (CRS) (1916-present); House and Senate Documents/Reports (1817-present); Legislative Histories (1969-current); Bills & Laws (1776-present); Vote Reports (1987-present); Historical Maps & Images (1789-2007); Congressional Record (daily and bound versions) (1789-present); Regulations; Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations; Presidential Executive Orders.
Member profiles, committee assignments, financial disclosure statements and voting records. - Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new windowExtensive coverage of news, legal and business sources. Contains full text U.S. and foreign newspapers, broadcast transcripts, newswires; company, industry and financial information including Company Dossier, and legal sources for U.S. Federal and State case law, statutes, regulations and law reviews. Create a free profile (optional) to save searches and set up alerts. Updated daily. Coverage: 1975-current.
- Hein Online: Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new windowIncludes all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world, as well as materials on free African-Americans in the colonies and the U.S. before 1870. Search the entire database or browse by slavery statutes (state and federal), judicial cases, scholarly articles, e-books, bibliography, and external links.
Selected Books
- Chicano! : History of the Mexican American Civil Rights MovementCall Number: E184.M5 R634 2009Videorecording
This 4-part documentary on DVD examines the Chicano Movement of the 1960s-1970s 
Dr. Lawrence A. Nixon and the White Primary by Call Number: E185.97 .N58 B79
Fighting Their Own Battles: Mexican Americans, African Americans, and the Struggle for Civil Rights in Texas by Call Number: F395.M5 B56 2011Available in print and as an e-book.
The Laws of Slavery in Texas: Historical Documents and Essays by Call Number: KFT1601.6.S55 L39 2010Available in print and as an e-book
Primary source material
No Mexicans, Women, or Dogs Allowed: The Rise of the Mexican American Civil Rights Movement by Call Number: E184.M5 O775 2009
Selected Acts, Treaties, Laws & Court Decisions Impacting Texas Civil Rights
- Ashworth ActA discussion of the Act of the Republic of Texas permitting free persons of color who were residing in Texas on the day of Texas' Declaration of Independence to remain within the republic.
- Ashworth Act (Portal to Texas History)The full text of the Ashford Act.
- The Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo (Hispanic Reading Rooms)Discussion of 1848 treaty. Includes documents in Spanish and links to English translations.
- Treaty of Guadalupe HidalgoA discussion from the Handbook of Texas Online.
- Black Codes (History Channel)A brief discussion about the history surrounding the creation and enforcement of the Black Codes.
- Black CodesA discussion from the Handbook of Texas Online.
- Election LawsA discussion of the changes in the state election statutes. Topics include residency requirements and poll taxes. From the Handbook of Texas Online.
- Hernandez v. State of TexasA discussion from the Handbook of Texas Online.
- Hernandez v. State of Texas (Justia)Full text of the Supreme Court decision.
- Cisneros v. Corpus Christi ISDA discussion from the Handbook of Texas Online.
- Cisneros v. Corpus Christi ISD (Justia US Law)Full text of the decision.
- Del Rio ISD v. SalvatierraA discussion from the Handbook of Texas Online. UTSA students, faculty, and staff can use the Lexis Nexis database to find the case's full text.
- Delgado v. Bastrop ISDA discussion from the Handbook of Texas Online.
- Delgado v. Bastrop ISD (Portal to Texas History)Full text of the Supreme Court decision.
- Edgewood ISD v. KirbyA discussion from the Handbook of Texas Online.
- Edgewood ISD v. Kirby (NCES)Full text PDF of the Supreme Court decision.
- Hernandez v. Drisoll CISDA discussion from the Handbook of Texas Online. UTSA students, faculty, and staff can use the Lexis Nexis database to find the case's full text.
- Rodriguez v. San Antonio ISDA discussion from the Handbook of Texas Online.
- Rodriguez v. San Antonio ISD (Cornell)Full text of the Supreme Court decision.
- United States v. TexasA discussion from the Handbook of Texas Online.
- United States v. Texas (Justia US Law)Full text of the Supreme Court decision.
- Sweatt v. PainterA discussion from the Handbook of Texas Online.
- Sweatt v. Painter (Cornell)Full text of Supreme Court decision.
U.S. Department of Justice
- Civil Rights Division - U.S. Department of JusticeCreated in 1957 by the enactment of the Civil Rights Act of 1957, works to uphold the civil and constitutional rights of all Americans, particularly some of the most vulnerable members of our society. The Division enforces federal statutes prohibiting discrimination on the basis of race, color, sex, disability, religion, familial status and national origin. Different sections of the website focus on education, housing rights, voting rights, and disability rights.
