Enhance the presence of literature in your classroom! A Magical Encounter: Latino Children's Literature in the Classroom, suggestions for the uses of literature in the classroom and its application to any classroom and with any other books the teacher may prefer. The book includes numerous examples of both books in English and books in Spanish, making it useful to the widest possible number of teachers and children. It also provides an extensive bibliography of books for children and adolescents by Latino and Latina authors, organized by genre, language, and some significant themes.
This best-selling standard reference resource offers up-to-date information on fiction and nonfiction picture books for children. Comprehensive and easy to use, it consists of a subject guide, a bibliographic guide, and title and illustrator indexes. This 7th edition adds more than 4,000 titles published since 2001.
Compiled by two experienced librarians, Crossing Cultures introduces more than 400 recent fiction and nonfiction multicultural resources for preschool through grade 6 and encourages readers to make literature about diversity an integral part of their program of instruction. Arranged in thematic groupings (Identity and Self-Image, Family and Friends, Traditions, Exploring the Past in Diverse Communities, for example), this lively volume links diverse peoples, themes, and issues.
The Children's Core Collection, (21st Edition, 2014) is a guide of approximately 12,000 books, covering fiction and nonfiction works, story collections, picture books, graphic novels and magazines recommended for readers from PK- 6th grade.
The Cambridge Guide to Children's Books in English is an alphabetized reference work providing a critical and appreciative overview of children's books written in English across the world. It gives due weight to the history of children's books from pre-Norman times to the present - respecting the canon but also recognizing current developments in publishing practices and in children's own reading. In addition to the long established traditions of children's writing from Britain and the USA, the Guide covers the increasing range of successful children's books produced in Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Africa and India; and the exciting renaissances in children's books taking place in Ireland and South Africa. In acknowledging that a great deal of what children read has little to do with classrooms and not much to do with what is considered 'literary', the Guide contains entries on television, comics, annuals and the growing range of media texts.
The Essential Guide to Children's Books and Their Creators assembles the best of that volume in one handy, affordable reference, geared specifically to parents, educators, and students. This new volume introduces readers to the wealth of children's literature by focusing on the essentials -- the best books for children, the ones that inform, impress, and, most important, excite young readers. Updated to include newcomers such as J. K. Rowling and Lemony Snicket and to cover the very latest on publishing and educational trends, this edition features more than 475 entries on the best-loved children's authors and illustrators, numerous essays on social and historical issues, thirty personal glimpses into craft by well-known writers, illustrators, and critics, and invaluable reading lists by category. The Essential Guide to Children's Books and Their Creators summarizes the canon of contemporary children's literature, in a practical guide essential for anyone choosing a book for or working with children.
Designed as a ready-reference and biographical source for educators and young readers, this book offers a more current and affordable alternative to multivolume publications. Fascinating profiles of 100 of the most beloved and celebrated picture book authors and illustrators are accompanied by photos, reading lists, and lists of related information sources (such as Web pages).
Each bimonthly issue contains reviews of the newest books available, articles and columns covering a variety of aspects of children’s books.
Also available in print on the JPL 4th Floor Current Periodicals